We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst accomadation experience in 25 years”
Review of Dale Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dale Head Hall
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Unpleasant hosts who provide overpriced dirty accommodation & demand payment in advance, do not provide restaurant service to self catering guests. The bedding was too small for bed old blankets and old dirty pillows resulted in us having to go and buy new pillows & cases the bathroom toilet & shower was dirty, TV only had limited channels & DVD video did no work, no phone signal and arm chairs were very uncomfortable Would not recommend to my worst enemy

Room Tip: Avoid and book somewhere else
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Dale Head Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 185 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

A beautiful setting by the lake. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. We had been upgraded to a junior 4 poster room which was a stunning room and completely unexpected. Only reason not five stars is it advertises a restaurant which is not promoted and the entrance is a bit tired which is a shame as its out of keeping with other areas. Throughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We've had one amazing stay at this place. Completely secluded from crowds. In beautiful scenery and the only place on the lake. Phillip was so very helpful and gave us great tips for outings. He assisted us with maps, advices and bookings. Shame we only didn't have time to try their fine dining as the breakfasts were delicious. Thank you for such beautiful stay . We are definitely coming back. Lucia and Nick Tentis

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The setting begins with a lovely view of the lake and gardens that the owners clearly lavish attention on, but our spirits sank as we entered an interior that we found gloomy. We soon felt the onset of dust allergies. We expressed our unhappiness with the dust and lack of light and air to the owners. They responded that it was inconceivable that the hotel was dusty and if we left we would forfeit two nights of rental deposit and the fees for the breakfasts. We suffered one hot, unpleasant night then, abandoning our deposits, moved out early the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewLayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Location is NOT 33 yards to lake as currently advertised more like 500 yards and is behind hotel so no view. Garden is NOT enclosed as currently advertised so not ideal for welcomed dogs. Clean and comfortable although outside smells of Tom cats! Very disappointed on arrival as totally misrepresented on website (they've been adviced). Be cautious when booking if enclosed garden/lake proximity are important to you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Caj2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our weekend away was a spontaneous decision to " get away from it all" and it certainly delivered! Amazing hotel! Unrivalled tranquility and peace. This beautiful hotel in its stunning grounds and with its unique views is not to be missed. If you want lively and bustling......go to Bowness. If you want absolute calm, serenity and "a cut above the rest" ....come here. We will be returning!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Saz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We came back on the 20th July from a beautiful sunny week in the tack room behind the hotel. We arrived saturday afternoon to a warm welcome, we later had drinks overlooking the most gorgeous view of the lake and gardens of the hotel. The room was plenty big enough for us and our large Labrador and the picture on the internet didn't do it justice. It was spotless and well equipped with what we needed as we were self catering. It was situated in between Keswick and Grasmere, just a short drive 5 to 10 minutes either way. There was a lovely pub at the bottom of the drive across the road. It topped it off because we had the best weather. All I can say is you need to book and go and see for yourself, we will definitely be returning.
Lovely family run business, thanks for a great stay xx

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugsy080867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
647 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
545 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Head Hall

Address: Lake Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: $94 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Dale Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Head Hall Keswick
Dale Head Hall Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing