We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the tack room , self catering at dale head hall”
Review of Dale Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dale Head Hall
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Keswick
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The only good thing about this place was the views and gardens from the terrace of hotel. Our stay was nothing like what we were expecting from the advert in Cottages for you ! In the brochure we were led to believe that we had use of the bar and if prior booking the restaurant to which none of this was offered in fact the Hotel appeared to be shut for the week that we were there. The Tack room which we had booked was behind the hotel and was cold and damp as got no sun and the heating was not put on once while we were there. Our towels were damp for the whole week as we had no way of drying them !! The furniture in the tack room was very uncomfortable and the crockery chipped, in fact all very basic. We had a lovely holiday in The lake district but unfortunately the accommadation took the edge off it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simm39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 200 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from Dale Head Hall Cottages. We had the Thirlmere suite which had a stunning view across the garden to the lake. We were fortunate in having good weather and excellent visibility throughout the week and the hills opposite the hotel were lit quite magically in the mornings and evenings. The accommodation was very good with plenty of space, especially in the bedroom. The living room was a little chilly in the evenings as the sun didn't penetrate the trees outside, but there were comfortable chairs and a TV in the huge bedroom, so we tended to use that for evening relaxing. There are some interesting plants in the garden (wild flowers outside it too) and a wide variety of birds came up to the feeder outside our door - we saw a red squirrel on our last morning, but unfortunately the deer eluded us. The owners are very friendly and helpful - available if and when needed. The food in the hotel dining room is excellent - we ate in there twice and really enjoyed it. Altogether an excellent holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandJCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We've just had a fantastic week in the Thirlmere suite, seen sights of unbelievable beauty, birds of numerous species to both see & hear, red squirrels at our door & deer walking in the gardens.The views across the lake is breathtaking. The suite is very well furnished with a massive bedroom with tons of storage space, a large bathroom, a lounge/dining room & well-equipped kitchenette. The door is at the patio area with a wooden garden table & chairs where you take in the fantastic views. The hotel has a bar & restaurant facilities. The owners are extremely pleasant & helpful.
As you walk through the beautifully kept & colourful gardens towards the lake, the songs of numerous birds follow your every step. Once outside the hotels garden there are well-trodden walks around the lake, the hotel being the only residence at all.
From the hotel, a short walk back to the road of about 400 yards will take you to another hotel where they normally have 5 real ales on tap, all very tasty. (But they do not have the fantastic views from the suite we had). I shall definitely be returning & recommend it to anyone wanting a holiday in the lakes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterHullofKempston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a 1 night stay over the Bank Holiday weekend and cannot imagine a better place in the Lake District if you want a quiet and relaxing time. The hotel is set in a beautiful location with views to die for. At the bottom of the garden is a path down to the lake front which joins to a path which, I imagine, takes you as far around thirlmere as you desire. We just wandered a relatively short distance in either direction and were blown away by the peace and quiet.

Room 11 has a superb view of the garden and lake. It is very clean with a large bathroom. Although we did not stay in the hotel for dinner the breakfast was delicious.

We will definitely be coming here again, the location alone is worth the price, everything else is a very generous bonus!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 11, ground floor with a lake view and terrace with outdoor seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

My fiancèe and I stayed here for just one night on our way back from Scotland, but wished we had stayed for longer! The owners are very welcoming and friendly (we were talking to one of them for over an hour in the bar), and accessible at all times.

Lovely view of the lake and walking path at the bottom of the garden.

Room was very clean, spacious, and comfortable, again with a beautiful view of the lake especially as the sun was shining! There is a wide variety for breakfast, but the full English was amazing!

Would definately stay here again and recommend to anyone going to the Lake District.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tugs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for just a few short days which was not enough, would have liked to stay longer. Cosy and well equiped with everything we needed this was in a beautiful spot and right in the centre of the Lake District with easy access to virtually everywhere. Owners were very helpful especially so since it snowed whilst we were there. Hope to be back some time soon.

Room Tip: These self catering holidays can be booked directly with the owners which would give you more choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We arrived in a snow storm and were very keen to get into a warm space. Unfortunately, the Tack Room, where we were staying, was about the same temperature as the outdoors, despite the heating being on. the insulation is clearly completely useless.

In addition, there was no one at the hotel and there was no phone reception, so it was impossible to query this with anyone, so after spending a cold and miserable night, we booked into a different place the following afternoon.

When I complained to the management, the response I received was:

"The central heating was timed to come on for your arrival and apologise if it was not warm, however, I am sure it would have warmed up quite quickly as it is a very efficient system." - Interesting, as we were there for about 18 hours in total and it never got any warmer. Good efficient system (!)

In addition, the amenities of the cottage are poor, missing simple things such as spatulas for cooking. We don't expect much, but a minimum of being able to cook our dinner would have been nice.

Will NEVER go back, summer or winter.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gavroche2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#5 of 22 in Keswick
579 reviews
4.7 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#13 of 22 in Keswick
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 22 in Keswick
709 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#14 of 22 in Keswick
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Head Hall

Address: Lake Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: $97 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Dale Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Head Hall Keswick
Dale Head Hall Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing