We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and lovely”
Review of Dale Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dale Head Hall
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Alston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet and lovely”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Took just a few days here in the self catering as we just wanted a short break away from it all. Couldn't have been better. Very cosy self catering apartment "the Stables". It had everything we needed and was in a superb location. Very secluded yet just a short drive from Keswick. We did a couple of walls straight from the grounds, superb. I am definitely going to come back here again next year for a short break

Room Tip: For the price we thought the Stables had everything we needed and was very good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    32
    25
    15
    25
See reviews for
25
108
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We really enjoyed the weekend here.Right next to Lake Thirlmere,lovely views,location,and a cosy pub 2minutes down the lane.The cottage was clean,comfortable.We found it better to use bath ,and wash up on an evening,the water is a little discoloured but it didnt bother us.flat screen tv has basic channels,which was fine,We took our labrador with us,so took lots old towels as he loved the lake. to protect the carpet,and a hoover was left for us,Keswick is 5miles and Ambleside 8miles which was handy for bit of shopping and supplies.Owners are lovely.Would go back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

If you want somewhere quiet and relaxing with excellent food this is the place to come. The location cannot be bettered with the view over the lake only slightly marred by the midges. We were up graded to the four poster bedroom. The meal was excellent and the service good. My partner complained about the location of the mirror in the bed room, and the shower was not as hot and as forceful as I am used to at home, but all in all we had an excellent short break.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon_ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2011

A highly enjoyable stay. Lovely room, fantastic hosts and a stunning location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danmoorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We arrived after a long drive and were staying in the self catering "The Stables" unit. The people were very kind and had put the heating on in the place before our arrival and on first impression it did appear clean.

They advised us that the hot water was not available all day as the boiler is turned off so only time to shower/wash-up was in the morning and in the evening - although no specific times were given we were able to get hot water about 10am and from about 5pm. I can understand the reasoning but if the weather is bad and people have got cold then access to a warm shower would be beneficial. The water is rather a weak tea colour but don't let that put you off as it is fine. Just comes from a rainwater storage and is treated.

They did ask that people did not wear their walking boots inside to protect the carpets but did not leave any carpet cleaning equipment in the place (hoover, brush or even ewbank). To be fair the carpet was not in the best of states but that is to be expected with the use I believe.

We had ample cutlery, plates etc and all the electric appliances worked. The TV did have a bit of a buzz to it but this was due to the high winds and torrential rain while we were there.

The location was brilliant for accessing most of the lakes. The unit was comfortable and we had most of what was needed for a self catering holiday for that Star rating.

The downside:
It is such a shame though that some things got overlooked for this place as it has so much potential. It just needs a bit of a boost and a bit more care.

The bathroom was sadly rather dusty and the interior could have done with a serious spruce up. It looked rather dilapidated.
There is no smoking in the units but nothing has been provided in terms of bins for the butts. We don't smoke but as our unit was on the ground floor near the door there was a rather large pile of butts dumped there which left a rather unpleasant smell as you came in. It would not take much to resolve this.
The DVD player although basic worked ok but has lost the remote. We asked for a new one as you only had play, eject on the player itself which if you want to skip anything or pause is a bit of nuisance. We asked for a remote the next morning only to be told that lots of people has reported this to them but that he would ask "the girls" if they had one. Nothing more was ever said or done.
We found a "lost" room key behind one of the cushions on the sofa which was to our unit. We handed it back and were thanked but it does lead me to believe that the unit might not have been cleaned too rigorously if it was that easy to be found.

On the whole it was ok if a little disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElFidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed in the 1st floor Leatheswater apartment for a week. The furnishings are a bit dated and a few things need replacing. The bed is awful, very hard and uncomfortable so we did not have one good nights sleep. The floorboards are also very loose and noisy which must be heard in the room beneath. The actual hotel has an air of lack of use and has a musty smell in the reception rooms, hardly any guests were apparent during our stay.
When you visit the lake district you expect rain so the facilities should reflect a certain amount of time spent relaxing in the apartment, but the chairs are not comfortable and the tv reception is awful, wi-fi is patchy and phone reception non existent. With a few tweaks this could be a very good apartment to match the location and view.

Room Tip: Don't expect luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepid1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed for just one night but will definitely return when we next visit the Lake District. The hotel is undergoing extensive refurbishment by the new owners. If you want peace and quiet instead of the bustle of Keswick then look no further!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
4.7 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Head Hall

Property: Dale Head Hall
Address: Lake Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Dale Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Head Hall Keswick
Dale Head Hall Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing