We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and delicious food”
Review of Sandon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandon Guest House
Ranked #96 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and delicious food”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights last weekend to attend the Convention and found it excellent. The twin room was lovely, with everything you needed and very clean. The breakfast was lovely with a nice choice of fruit for starters. Steve and Margaret made us very welcome and we will certainly be back to stay with them again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments,we try our very best to make your stay comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
26
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very friendly owners and clean rooms. A short walk from the town centre so close enough for easy access, but not too close to be plagued by noise. Would definitely stay again on my next trip to the lakes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogalogjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your response,we do try to do our very best to make our guests welcome and make sure they have a great stay at sandon.We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Sandon is in the city center but very quiet and about 15 mins to walk to the Derwent Water. Overall the location is good.
The breakfast is excellent and room is modern and clean.
This b&b is good value and worth to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YuanXu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your response,we hope you will visit us again and we will continue to make sure you have a great stay at sandon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have stayed here for 5 nights over the last few years. It's in a great location with free on street parking. Steve and Margaret always make us very welcome and the breakfasts are delicious.
The rooms are very well eqipped, comfortable and everywhere is spotlessly clean and well decorated. There are lots of extras in the shower; shower gel and cap, body lotion, shampoo and conditioner, sewing kit, shoe cleaning set etc. There are always biscuits with the hot drink making facilities with chocolates on arrival.
2minutes walk and you're in the town square and it's an ideal place to stop for walkers or just to admire the views.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you Denice and John,you know we try very hard to please everone and we look forward for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

just got back from an overnight stay at the Sandon, lovely place, modern decor, very very clean, comfy bed, ample breakfast, nice friendly owners, good location, reasonable price...what more can i say, we stayed there before a couple of years ago and we got the same exellant service...give it a go you wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: home from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharron32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments it looks like we haven't lost our touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at Easter 2013. Fantastic B&B, in a brilliant quiet location, yet only a short walk from Keswick centre. The room was spacious and decorated to a high standard and ours even had a excellent view of the fells! Loads of choice at breakfast and the food was delicious. The owners were extremely helpful on where to eat and what to see. Brilliant place and thanks for the Keswick Mountain Festival info hope to come up and stay again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 841andym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments ,we try to please everyone, and it makes it easier if the weather is good which it was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

As a group of friends (3 couples) we enjoy the local walking and we also attend the annual ‘Words by the Water’ Literacy Event.
We would not think of staying anywhere else. Steve and Margaret who own the B&B are simply marvelous hosts. Their establishment is exceedingly well appointed and is always well decorated. As I note in other reviews the Breakfasts are simply delightful and nothing is too much trouble. When you add the above to its ideal situation, within two minutes walk of Keswick Centre , why would you stop anywhere else – we woudn’t!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we aim to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#93 of 173 in Keswick
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#54 of 173 in Keswick
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
West View Guest House
West View Guest House
#68 of 173 in Keswick
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#4 of 173 in Keswick
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#129 of 173 in Keswick
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandon Guest House

Property: Sandon Guest House
Address: 13 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandon is a 4 star silver and breakfast award Victorian Lakeland Stone Guesthouse with 5 en suite rooms,The rooms are flexible so they can be double,superking,Twin,and single,or we can do single occupancy for a larger room.We are about 10 minutes from Lake Derwentwater and minutes from the popular walks,we also have storage for ten bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing