We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch B&B!”
Review of Sandon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandon Guest House
Ranked #96 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch B&B!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Fantastic B&B ran by really friendly hosts. This was my first visit but I will definitely be returning! The rooms are decorated to a high standard and the breakfast freshly prepared and delicious!! Ideally situated in the centre of Keswick. A great, comfortable base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnyC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwen
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed here for the first time and it was excellent. The room was comfortable and clean, breakfast was delicious and the hosts were extremely helpful. Thank you for making our weekend perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nettimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you very much,we do try our best to keep our guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLEETHORPES
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed here for the first time, having stayed at numerous other b&b`s over the years we have been coming to this beautiful part of England. We found the hosts very friendly, the room clean and comfortable and the breakfast`s the best we have had.Highly recommended,will be our first choice of accommodation when we next return to Keswick.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVE O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thanks for a great review,we aim to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We have stayed at the Sandon 3times now and found it to be excellent,very clean well looked after.The hosts are very friendly and accommodating,nothing to much trouble.Fantastic breakfast and great location,very close to town centre. Will be returning again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments,we do try our very best to give evryone a great stay at Sandon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I've been staying for 2 weeks a year at Sandon Guest House for a number of years now. Before that I had stayed in many different Guest Houses and Bed and Breakfasts, some good, some very poor. I therefore consider myself qualified to fully endorse Sandon Guest House as a great place to stay. The rooms are comfortable, clean and with all the facilities you need. The full English breakfast is as near to perfection as any I have tasted. However in addition to all of this, it is important to have friendly and helpful proprietors and Steven and Margaret are very welcoming, personable and have a huge range of knowledge and ideas to tap into for your stay in the Lake District. Try them and you won't want to stay in any other B&B in Keswick. Chris Stanbury.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and clean and range from well furnished singles with en-suite, to double and twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
We aim to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed in march to enjoy a spot of late winter hills walking. Sandon is ideally situated, rooms are smart and clean and the proprieters were great hosts and very accommodating. Overall I felt it was good value for money and will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksf_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Sandon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Dorchester House
Dorchester House
#99 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#95 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bluestones Guest House
Bluestones Guest House
#102 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Green Guest House
Eden Green Guest House
#98 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindisfarne House
Lindisfarne House
#150 of 175 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandon Guest House

Property: Sandon Guest House
Address: 13 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandon is a 4 star silver and breakfast award Victorian Lakeland Stone Guesthouse with 5 en suite rooms,The rooms are flexible so they can be double,superking,Twin,and single,or we can do single occupancy for a larger room.We are about 10 minutes from Lake Derwentwater and minutes from the popular walks,we also have storage for ten bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing