We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in The Lakes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birch How

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birch How
Ranked #104 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury in The Lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Decided to get away for a while and found this treasure of a place in Keswick. Finding the location was easy from the directions on the website with the added bonus of free secure car parking! We were warmly greeted by the owner, Carolyn who immediately made us feel welcomed with a lovely cup of tea and information about the guest house. Her local knowledge, not only of the events in Keswick but also of the fells and surrounding Lakes was very impressive. She quickly suggested some fabulous walks for us once we told her of our interests and general fitness level. The room was absolutely wonderful, very clean, well decorated and loads of space to hang up clothes or store shoes and boots. It was nice and warm - much appreciated after returning from a long walk in the recent cold weather. Breakfast and evening meal would put many of the local restaurants to shame - absolutely delicious and plenty of it. We will definitely return to this guest house and suggest you try it out yourself.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back very quite, rooms at the front get loads of sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

A much needed break was made extra special by a brilliant stop over at Birch How Guest house, Keswick. The room was very warm and comfortable and we were immediately made to feel welcome by the owner. There is plenty of storage room for your clothes and it has all the amenities you would expect from a great B & B. The bed was so comfortable it was difficult to get out off the next morning but the smell of a cooked full English breakfast made the task a little easier. The room was very clean and well maintained and all the linen smelled freshly washed. Having free WiFi allowed us to continue planning our journey with very fast access speed. When we did venture out onto the fells Carolyn's advice and recommendations were second to none, its as if she had walked every fell herself! We will definitely be going back there in the future if we can manage to book a room.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house are bathed in sunshine all morning - when the sun shines that is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brierfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Since finding Birch How five years ago we have stayed at this great B&B many times. Carolyn the owner is a keen outdoor enthusiast and is always willing to offer expert advice about walking, running and cycling in the area. The accommodation is both comfortable and spotlessly clean offering excellent meals in a convenient position for the town centre. Every time we return we are made to feel welcome, just like visiting a friend. We can both highly recommend this excellent B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is a great place to stay. Warm, comfortable and friendly atmosphere. Various dietery needs catered for without any fuss. Carolyn has expert knowledge of the area and fells and is able to give great advice. Birch How is near to the main amenities in Keswick, off street parking available and really is home from home. I can truly recommend Birch How.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

This B&B is a great find.We have stayed here several times already and will be back. Located just a few minutes to the centre of Keswick. Carolyn who runs the B&B is a real fund of information. A keen outdoor enthusiast herself anything you need to know about the area she can fill you in on. This is great for ideas on walks in the local area.
Spotless rooms, light and airy with comfy beds. Huge brekky very welcomed for keeping you going all day on the hill.
There is free car parking out the back too
Thanks Carolyn for making our stays so great, see you soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiBreezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Birch How is a great location for exploring the Lakes. Carolyn is a fantastic host and her local knowledge really made a huge positive impact on our enjoyment. I am lactose intolerant and that did not present any problems for Carolyn in the kitchen for either breakfast or dinner. It is great to find places where the host just wants to make everything right and to help you enjoy your stay. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Telemarkdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#34 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ravensworth House
Ravensworth House
#125 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rooms36
Rooms36
#95 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#27 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keswick Park Hotel
Keswick Park Hotel
#144 of 177 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#120 of 177 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birch How? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch How

Property: Birch How
Address: Brundholme Terrace, 41 Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing