We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent food, fine beer, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Lion

Golden Lion
Ranked #40 of 127 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“excellent food, fine beer, friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Enjoyed this place so much we came back two nights in a row,. Had vegetarian faire the first night and found it top notch. Went for traditional bangers and mash the second night and it was equally good. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmandaKail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    99
    39
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
440 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Decent food and service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nothing to complain about really. Decent pub grub and a nice pub. Good service and food arrived very quickly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hemmo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Booking ignored!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I was a member of a Stag party (17 guys) and we'd made a booking well in advance of our trip in May. We turned up and announced ourselves; the one member of staff in the entire pub (bearing in mind it was also the Jazz Festival weekend and the place was packed) told us that they don't take bookings (even though he confirmed there was one written down on and stuck to the back of a door behind the bar), he told us to wait while he served some of the 8 wide 2 deep crowd at the bar before he could do anything. He then told us that the place was full and he couldn't accommodate us without as much as an apology. 17 guys on a Saturday night looking to be fed in Keswick.... luckily The Packhorse Inn just a short walk away accommodated us with a smile and some of the best service I've ever had.

Sorry Golden Lion you missed out on a £700 bill and a hefty tip!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Rhubarb-Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone F, Owner at Golden Lion, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi, thanks for your review, after some investigation, your reservation it seems was taken in error, we don't ever take bookings and as a pub, not a restaurant, we won't be doing any time soon. Apparently you were told this at the time but you insisted on booking for 12 people. So you turned up with 17 er to be honest we don't have anywhere we could have accommodated that increase in numbers anyway and i don't know many restaurants that could have done so at such short notice either. With reference to the staffing. It was a changeover and so unfortunately we only had one member of staff on. We are a small family run business and unfortunately on some occasions with the feast or famine nature of catering in a tourist town we find ourselves understaffed, I apologize for your wait and for any inconvenience caused, and that you were not given an apology at the time but the barman was clearly busy and under no small amount of stress.
I am really pleased you managed to get your needs met at the Packhorse, it is run by a friend and i know it is a cracking pub so i am glad that all was well in the end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub Great Service”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Visited here Easter Monday after trying another pub opposite who insisted on folding Baby push chair before entering but not in the Golden Lion though , we were greeted and treated excellently when we asked if it was ok to bring in the pram, plenty of space and a high chair brought promptly over for our grandson.
The interior is modern and pleasant with a very courteous staff.
Not a large menu but excellent selection of meals to cover all types of diners including a vegetarian choice and boos children's menu too
The prices were great value too and not your usual ott that is the norm in most tourist haunts
The food that we all ordered came berg quickly too and the quality of the food was very good as can be supported by the recommendation from my wife who is a very fussy diner the chips which were served with the meal were actual home cooked/prepped not the usual catering supply thin cut variety.
The drink selection was very good with a good seller cation of ales both local and others , lagers and a wide choice of spirits and wines and again the bar prices were very reasonable
The atmosphere at our time of visit was relatively quiet but at 17:00 on an Easter Monday that would be expected as most of the tourists would be off home at this time.
We regularly visit Keswick as we are from west Cumbria so in the future we will definitely return and gave also recommended to our other son and daughter who have young infants
So next time in Keswick give it a go I'm sure you won't be disappointed

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ldb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“regular”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

if in Keswick you have to visit, great pub and a lovely choice of mid day snacks. staff are fab and its on the main street so very handy

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank soph1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Lion also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing