We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliantly run B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Howe Keld

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howe Keld
Ranked #14 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brilliantly run B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Howe Keld is an example of what differences little touches make in a B and B. It is obvious the owners feel a great sense of passion and pride in what they do. We had the luxury rooms 7 and 8, very well done, with lots of little comforts that had evidently been given a great deal of thought. No view from these rooms though, but we were out and about so much that the lack of view did not matter much. The location is ideal, everything within Keswick is a short stroll away, including Derwentwater. The breakfast was superb and just the oat porridge itself was the best I have had anywhere in the world. If I can rave on thus about mere porridge, then you can well imagine what the rest of the breakfast was like. Some reviewers have mentioned that specifying your breakfast the evening before is a tad tedious, but we did not find it to be so in the least. It's a very practical thing to do, reduces wastage and ensures great quality in what you eat, a win-win situation for all. I cannot imagine that it would be so hard to just the night before decide what you would like for breakfast the next day. If you can plan your exact walking route or trek for the next day, then why not your breakfast! The owner David was a helpful delight, always ready to offer some tips, despite his pressing schedule. Thanks to him, I ended up taking my young kids to see an organic mill on the banks of a little river, operating on water wheels, and producing some of the finest flour I have ever seen and I am an organic, whole grain, fresh flour kind of person! This is just to show that he is not just in the business of telling you only what the weather will be like, or the best walking route to take, he's happy to recommend anything that is in your line of interest. The icing on the cake is the effort they make towards reducing the impact their little B and B has on the environment. For those who already value the environment, this is a sight for sore eyes and for those who don't think about it that much, well you could take a tip or two out of the Howe Keld philosophy. To conclude, one of the best places you could stay at in the lake district and they truly deserve all the accolades they get.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romanholiday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
203
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

I found Howe Keld to be superbly modernised as a boutique guest house. It may date as its so well done for now. Spotlessly clean, spacious room newly decorated, comfortable bed, lcd, all mod cons in the en-suite. Breakfast was the bes I ever had ain a B + B.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belleraphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

Stayed with picky partner and extended family who were all well pleased with the environment and location. Breakfast went down a treat and was very well presented. Rooms were very modern and spacious. (Rooms 4 & 5). Very welcoming staff and environment - will use again and recommend highly.

Very pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLoveLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

Howe Keld lives up to all the accolades it has received on TA. It's been beautifully renovated with all the comforts--plush bedding and towels, beautiful wood furniture and heavenly beds. We slept better there than any other place on our 3 weeks in England. The location is perfect--a 5 minute walk from Derwentwater--and the views over the mountains were breathtaking. David and his wife provide excellent service with all the nice touches--there is a sitting room with weather updates every day, a sunny and spacious breakfast room and fabulous breakfasts with a choice of cooked options. I would highly recommend Howe Keld for a wonderful stay in the lake district.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidsonProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

This newly renovated B&B is beautifully presented. Our room was large and airy, if a little noisy being right over the front door. Some very loud fellow guests in the foyer plus lorries and scaffolders.

However, the room was spacious, the bed superb and all the add-ins well considered. On top of this, the breakfast is excellent. Individually cooked for you and served by helpful, happy staff in a beautifully modernised dining room.The owners were also very helpful with respect to boat tickets, weather forecasting and general friendliness.

On the downside it is expensive for a B&B at £100 per night and my only other criticism would be that the 'bath' towels are a bit on the stingy side!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jag500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

This is the best place to stay if your travels take you to the Lake District. The rooms are immaculate, the owners are wonderful and the breakfasts are so good that you will try to duplicate them when you get home. The location is also perfect for any hiking, walking or going into town. It is also very easy to get to as we did not have a car, but after arriving at the train station, it was no problem to catch a bus to Keswick and then the walk is very short and easy. Everyone needs to stay at this modern, environmentally friendly and special B & B at least once during their travels.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beejgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

I was about to write a detailed review of our stay in How Keld's new junior suite, but when I read the previous reports, I realised I would simply be repeating all the fantastic reviews which have gone before.
All I will say is this. If How Keld were a car, it would be a Rolls Royce!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#13 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howe Keld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Keld

Property: Howe Keld
Address: 5 The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Howe Keld 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howe Keld offers quality B&B in a great location between Keswick town centre and Lake Derwentwater. It has been extended and completely refurbished and awarded Gold by the Visit Britain Hotel Inspector. Modern in design and tasteful in decoration and furnishing, emphasis has been placed upon providing spacious accommodation in most bedrooms. Parking is limited in the rear car park and available out the front along the Heads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Howe Keld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howe Keld Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing