We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cartwheel ticks all the boxes !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cartwheel Guest House
Ranked #30 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Cartwheel ticks all the boxes !”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Made to feel very welcome, lovely B&B will return again one day . It was the wife's birthday and they even had a card and a box of Thornton's chocolates waiting for her on the bed in our room,how nice is that .....oh and loved the elephant towels :) .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Firestorm556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi..thank you for your very kind comments following your recent stay with us, they are greatly appreciated. We are always pleased to hear that our guests have felt welcome in our home and that you enjoyed your chocolates..who doesn't like a bit of chocolate, especially on a special occasion. Take care and we would very much like to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
141
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Having had the pleasure of staying here in October 2012 (apologies for not reviewing sooner), we have just booked to go back for a few days in July after our wedding.

Sumptuous bedding, good breakfast, substantial pack-ups and, most importantly of all, a friendly welcome make this the perfect place to stop when exploring the Lakes.

Nothing is too much trouble, whether advising on a walking route or packing extra cake.

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi..please don't apologise for the delay in this review. We are more than pleased that despite the time difference between your stay and your submission, you still remember and rate it highly enough to pass on your kind comments. We also look forward to seeing you again in July..the way times flying by, you won't have to wait long...it will be here before we know it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Wonderful stay at the Cartwheel, thanks Tina and Bernie. B&B was lovely and clean, warm, hoists were lovely and welcoming, breakfast superb, and the home made cake waiting for us after a day on the hills was delicious. Excellent value packed lunches saved a trip into town before going for a walk.
David & Margaret.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hi David and Margaret. Bernie and I would like to thank you for writing this review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, felt warmly welcomed and well fed and that you enjoyed it enough to let others know we are worth a try for their visits to Keswick. Glad you also enjoyed your lunch, can't beat a bit of cake up on the fells..a reward with the view after a long slog up. Take care and hopefully it won't be too long before you're both back in our neck of the woods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

stayed 2 nights in november; lovely clean room with a view of skiddaw. bernie+ tina were fantastic hosts; dried my boots for me as paddled on the lake!! breakfasts was filling+ plentiful. would recommend the packed lunch especially the homemade cake! definitely stay again, only next time in a single room( never share with a snoring partner!!!!!) so apologies to hosts for my grumpiness at breakfast due to lack of sleep!! hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi Guys.. thank you for your comments and please don't apologise for being grumpy at breakfast, I really didn't notice! Really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the packed lunch,particularly Bernie's homemade cake, coconut wasn't it ? A firm favourite with many of our guests. Just a shame the weather couldn't have been a little kinder for you to eat it. Take care and we hope you can come back to stay with at the Cartwheel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I have just returned from my 3rd stay with Tina and Bernie at the Cartwheel. This is an excellent B and B right in the heart of Keswick, and I can highly recommend it. Tina and Bernie are fantastic hosts, they are very welcoming and friendly and will do anything to make your stay as comfortable and as happy as possible. They are very relaxed, and make you feel at home. The place is always immaculately clean, and the bedroom I stayed in was well furnished with a lovely comfy bed, TV, nice décor and a lovely on-suite with a great shower (I stayed in the single en-suite). There is also a complimentary well stocked tea/coffee/chocolate tray in the room.

The breakfasts feature a great selection of cereal, fresh fruit, and yoghurts. The cooked breakfast is ample and delicious, and there is plenty of filter coffee and toast and preserves on offer. Also, as a lovely touch, Bernie bakes home-made cakes (time permitting), which can often be found in the dining room upon your return from a hard day in the fells! I sampled some apple cake, gingerbread and a rock bun on my stay – all very delicious! So thanks for that Bernie!

They also have a drying room, which makes a big difference when your clothes are soaked through.
The price is also very reasonable, and great value for money.
There is plenty of free on-street parking also, which is always a bonus! It is located in a quiet street a minutes walk away from the town centre, and is easy to find and a great location for exploring.
I am looking forward to seeing Tina and Bernie again next year!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Single en-suite at the back of the B and B - very quiet with a nice view out the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. It was a real compliment to hear you speak at breakfast of coming" home" upon your return from the fells the previous day, after all that's what's important, feeling comfortable. It's also good to know that in your opinion we appear to be hitting the mark with regards to being reasonable priced and offer great value for money, in the words of a famous supermarket ..."every little helps" these days. Take care and we look forward to seeing you back us again soon, perhaps to take some Spring photographs, as a change from the Autumn colour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed in September for a few days. A very warm welcome, to a clean comfortable room. The breakfast was tasty and the fruit salad was excellent. our favourite bit was the afternoon cake to welcome us back from our ramblings. We would be happy to recommend this accommodation to others.

Dave and Hazel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davebrown999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A gem of a place owned by such a wonderful couple. No request was too much trouble including walking routes, supplying of O.S.maps , best places in Keswick to eat and a great array of Lakeland reading matter. The single room had everything I needed, was extremely clean and well decorated. The hearty breakfast and afternoon home baked teas were delicious. Tina and Bernie were amazing hosts so warm and friendly. They and their many talents would easily grace an establishment anywhere. Brilliant free parking, only 2mins from Keswick town centre. The whole vacation was enhanced by my stay at the Cartwheel and I intend to stay again I will certainly recommend it to everyone. Great value for money(too cheap!) and this from a well travelled Yorkshireman

Room Tip: Do not worry about the single room with a sheared bathroom~~~I never had a problem. The power shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Compliments indeed and as you say "from a Yorkshire man..." thank you. May we say that we too enjoyed your stay here with us. It was a joy to hear your cheerful whistling in the mornings. We're pleased to know that our traditional B&B offering more than met up to your expectations and that everything was in place to enable you to enjoy your visit. Take care and we hope to see you back here with us in Keswick in the not too distant future. Tina & Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#28 of 173 in Keswick
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#4 of 173 in Keswick
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#58 of 173 in Keswick
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#38 of 173 in Keswick
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 173 in Keswick
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#22 of 173 in Keswick
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwheel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwheel Guest House

Property: The Cartwheel Guest House
Address: 5 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nigel and Debra can assure you of a warm welcome at our traditional slate Victorian Guest House, conveniently located close to Keswick town centre, Derwentwater and the spectacular northern fells. We provide hearty lakeland breakfasts and can cater for most guest's dietary requirements (just let us know at time of booking). Packed lunches are available at a nominal cost and we will be pleased to fill your flask with tea or coffee free of charge, just drop it off at breakfast. When you arrive back from your busy day, home-made cake will be waiting for you! Whatever brings you to Keswick and the beautiful landscape of the surrounding lakes and fells, we aim to make your stay with us an enjoyable and memorable one, with good standards of accommodation and service for all our guests. We are Walker and Cyclist friendly. 2017 rates - Single rooms £ 35 - £ 40; Double /Twin rooms £74 - £80. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing