We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great coffee and stay at Fitz guesthouse Keswick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fitz Guest House and Cafe
Ranked #145 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 9, 2014

THANKS FOR THE GREAT STAY and the coffee when i was walking the Cumbria way,
Its like you become a Keswicking!!! This place has a big Good room and the service in the morning to have an Enlish breakfast were very good. Thanks and see you soon again, From Ard karsten, beerbike Damtours - Amsterdam

Room Tip: ASK the price before and what is included into all
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karsten2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Owner at Fitz Guest House and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Ard was a lovely guest visiting Keswick alone from Amsterdam.
We love customers like Ard because he was laid back and easy going like us!
Come back again Ard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Fitz Guest House and Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 53 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed one night in this B&B in our two weeks vacation trip around UK. I can not say anything bad about this place but can not say anything very good neither. We came around 6pm and Sophie's eldest son showed our room and gave us key. I asked him a few questions and we put our luggage into the room after that I wanted to get help about Keswick but I was not able to find anybody in this house. Next morning we had a breakfast and it was ordinary full English breakfast. My wife also noticed that bedsheets were with wrinkles, cleaned but not ironed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikhail0859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

lovely B&B in het centre of Keswick, and still quiet
very friendly and helpfull owners
the most expensive B&B w've had this holiday (75 £/night)
we didn't need our car, we could visit Keswick starting at the B&B

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great position in Town, comfortable room with a really good shower,which is often not the case with guest houses in Keswick
Sophie is has been said very charming, gave us a great cooked breakfast & we will be coming again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Fitz guest house is centrally located in beautiful Keswick. Sophie is a charming and helpful host, ably assisted by her little helper Anna. Freshly cooked hot breakfast was greatly enjoyed in a pleasant family atmosphere. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were looking forward to this guest house but were very disappointed. We did not get the room we booked. There was no balcony with views of the garden as promised yet we were charged the full amount. The room was clean but very small with little furniture besides the bed. Our friends booked later and seemed to be given the room we were promised but were charged £30 more for it.
The cooked breakfast was poor. We were offered only bacon and eggs or vegetarian sausages.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Owner at Fitz Guest House and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

I am always sorry when guests are unhappy and as this has never happened before I think somehow there has been a misunderstanding with the rooms. We only have two rooms and only one has a balcony which is why it was more expensive, also prices differ depending upon whether guests stay one night or two and whether it is a Saturday. Its usually best to call us directly for a better room deal than book through the internet actually. My breakfast is always well received as seen from all my previous reviews and unfortunately I only had vegetarian sausages in and not cumberland which I usually have so I am sorry about that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We knock the door on a Thursday late evening and Sophie showed us the room and made us feel home. Amazing wellcome from the family. Rooms perfectly clean, great shower, and amazing scrambled eggs with bacon! We coudn´t be more right by chosing this lovely place.

Room Tip: lovely balcony ground floor room
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
1.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
635 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
311 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitz Guest House and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitz Guest House and Cafe

Address: 47 Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $124 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fitz Guest House and Cafe 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitz Guest House is a stunning Victorian family run house and cafe in close proximity to Keswick Town Centre, Fitz Park and the leisure spa. It is also in a quiet area despite being so central as it is off the main road and noisy town centre.Both double or twin rooms are ensuite. The family/double room on the ground floor has a lovely private balcony. There is a fantastic childrens play area in Fitz Park only minutes away which also includes tennis, football and pitch and putt courts. We sell a variety of cakes, snacks, freshly roasted localcoffee and loose leaf Teas in our cafe open from Easter until the end of October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fitz Guest House and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing