We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely cuppa and great scones”
Review of Nichol End Marine

Nichol End Marine
Ranked #47 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: CAFE: The cafe is undergoing refurbishment this winter after severe flooding in December 2015. We are trying to ensure that as a minimum tea, coffee and loos are available for bertholders, members and passing walkers. BOAT HIRE AND TUITION Is still available but is very much dependent on the weather conditions on the day. MOORINGS Moorings are available for the 2016 season. KESWICK LAUNCH Is unable to call at Nichol End at the moment due to damaged jetties. We can offer a shuttle service to and from Keswick on one of our boats to connect in with Keswick Launch. This is weather dependent and on demand. WORKSHOP The workshop was also flooded and we are only accepting small engine repairs at present. See our facebook page for updates. We are doing our very best to reopen and resume our full service for Easter 2016.
west mids
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“lovely cuppa and great scones”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Popped in here after completing 12 miles of walking had a lovely refreshing cup of tea and an excellent sultana scone only slight drawback was we didnt get there till 3pm and all the fresh cherry scones had gone and my wife had to have a warmed up frozen one which wasn't quite the same but still very good.
We love this place and always make a point of coming here plus its great value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chickenbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    56
    12
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Scones”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Delightful café, lovely food and excellent service and setting, would happily return. A pity the due to high water the launch could not land.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We set off walking around the lake, and stopped here half way round for a re-fuel lunch break.
It is a lovely place, you can sit inside (warmth) or outside and enjoy the activities that are going on around you.
We got one of the lovely famous big scones! and yes the are big!! We got it with jam & cream, had to rest a while after until we were able to start walking again. It cost us £8 altogether for 2 scones and 2 cans of pop.
They also have a big menu that serves lots of things, soup, baguettes, sandwiches, cakes, scones etc! :)
When returning to derwent water, will deffo come back here! thanks for the excellent and smiley services

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattandlaura2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Crazy Lakeside Scenes & Scones!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I've been visiting Nichol End Marine - boy & man - for over 40 years and it's great to see how it's developed from a magically small green hut to the thriving waterside adventure centre it's become. There's always stuff going on, so to sit in (or outside) the café tucking into scones which seem to be scaled to match nearby Skiddaw and the size and quality of which you're unlikely to witness anywhere else - is a real treat. And when you're exhausted from watching all the waterbourne activity, you can catch the ferry to Keswick or round the Lake. How good's that?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lakeside coffee”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

After a walk round the lake we enjoyed an excellent Cappuchino here. They also have on the menu very large (massive) tray baked square 'scones' which would feed an army of fellwalkers or canoeists. Four of us shared one!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nichol End Marine also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Portinscale, Keswick
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Nichol End Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing