We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brierholme Guest House
Ranked #5 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“clean and friendly”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

After staying for a weekend in March 2012, we would certainly reccomend the hospitality on offer from the proprieters. Every whim was catered too and the room was spotles and comfortable enough. Maybe £75pn is a little bit steep but all in all, the place is just what you need for a weekend in the lakes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayavee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
371
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This B & B verges on luxurious! The room was large enough for us and our bike gear, the facilities were faultless, I really appreciated the complimentary bottled water, as well as the biscuits and the great selection of teas, coffee and even hot chocolate. The ensuite shower room was a bit small, but was spotlessly clean, had eveything one could possibly need, and it was so nice to have face flannels supplied. Free wifi was also very much appreciated. We also had a view of the lovely back garden and the hills. The breakfast was the best out of the 7 we had during our road trip. Coming down to find a huge bowl of fresh fruit salad was fantastic, and my scrambled eggs were cooked perfectly. I only wish I'd had room to try the home made jam.
It was great to be able to lock the bikes up in the garage too. This B & B is excellent value for money, and I would highly reccommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the Lake District.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treesrwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had a brilliant weekend in Keswick & couldn't have picked better accomodation. Brierholme was really cenral & benefited from parking which is a must in Keswick in August.
Our room was spacious & well equipped & had beautiful views over Catbells. The breakfasts were delicious both mornings & we were able to make any special requests the night before.
Gerry could not have been more helpful suggesting local places etc & we did one of the walks from the information pack they had put together in the room.
My partner left his phone charger & she popped it in the post for us the next day.
We will definately return to Keswick & Brierholme!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

whilst the weather was grim, the welcome from the hosts was warm .
Beakfast was comprehensive with homemade jams & marmalade. the Sunday special fishcakes were very good with poached eggs
their free parking is a boon, so close to the centre of Keswick, and they can also arrange a discount on the local theatre tickets

Room Tip: ask for the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roggiesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Second visit in a short space of time - well that says it all.
Another warm welcome - crikey Trevor and Gerry have what it takes to run a fabulous home from home. Full house with very happy guests for each of the 3 nights we stayed this weekend.
Breakfast to die for - whatever you want - meticulously clean - right in the heart of Keswick and with parking for cars and bikes in lock up for cyclists!
No wonder Brierholme has 5* reviews.
Didn't want to go home - honestly!!!

Room Tip: Magnificent views of hills from elevated position of guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesPhillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

just got back from a weekend break from the moment of entering we were warmly welcomed by gerry and trevor.The room was spacious lovely views.Very nice tea tray with everything from tea coffee hot chocolate bottled water and delicious biscuits topped up every morning.The breakfast was brilliant anything you wanted trevors scrambled eggs were the best ever,my husband had the fishcake and poached egg he isnt a breakfast person but nothing was left.Will highly reccomend a stay here well done a brilliant team.The shops and bars are a stone through away.Will revisit.

Room Tip: room 6 lovely view and comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent the diamond jubilee weekend here.. can honestly say this is one of the best B&Bs we have ever been in.. the owners were friendly and helpful and the food was wonderful... sent my daughter there this weekend... will be back..xxx=0)

Room Tip: room 2 overlooks cat bells..=0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sockmonkeycheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brierholme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brierholme Guest House

Property: Brierholme Guest House
Address: 21 Bank Street, Keswick CA12 5JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brierholme Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brierholme is just a 1 minute walk from the centre of Keswick. Private parking for all guests and secure storage for motorbikes and cycles. A warm and friendly welcome is assured as well as a delicious Cumbrian breakfast. Double and Twin rooms are available, all en-suite and there are splendid fell views from all rooms. Flat screen TVs, hairdryers, radio alarm clocks, individually controlled central heating, welcome trays. Free Wi-Fi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Brierholme Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing