We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brierholme Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$149
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
$106
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$134
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$215
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$196
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
633 results
Traveler rating
618
13
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
618
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade marmaladefull englishattic roomwarm welcomefish cakesguest houseperfect hostscotton budswonderful guesthousetown centrepoached eggslittle extraslovely weekendcentral locationfriendly hostsfantastic viewsexcellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
616 - 621 of 633 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2012

After being let down by a hired campervan my new husband and I chose brierholme to spend our honeymoon. It wasn't what we had planned but after the first day we extended our stay we loved it so much.

With a fantastic breakfast choice, a very warm welcome and two of the most down to earth, friendly and helpful people you could ever hope to meet, we couldnt recommend this guest house more and we will certainly be back to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We recently spent a few days in Keswick staying at Brierholme. Trevor and Gerry, the owners, are very friendly and most welcoming. They are very knowledgeable about the area and always ready to help and advise
Our ensuite, cosy room was extremely well equipped, spotlessly clean with such comfy beds and the most wonderful view of the Skiddaw mountain range.
Trevor's breakfasts were excellent, really set you up for the day and there was even a specials board for Sunday breakfast.
Brierholme,which even has it's own parking spaces,is ideally situated,being only a couple of minutes from the main shopping street and a short stroll from the lake,where we had a very pleasant 50 min boat ride.
We can thoroughly recommend this lovely home from home and hope to be back later this year

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marge Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed in the cosy attic room with fantastic views of Skiddaw and excellent en suite shower. Trevor's going to win awards for his breakfasts and the special fish cakes on Sunday were a real treat. The place is spotlessly clean and the comfy bed is just what you want at the end of a day on the fells. Gerry and Trevor are more than happy to recommend walks to match your experience/weather/how much time you have. There's also a helpful MWIS weather forecast pinned up at breakfast. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolMillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed for the weekend in April and had a really lovely time. Gerry and Trevor are the perfect hosts and immediately made us feel welcome telling us to treat their home as our own! Having dropped off our bags in our room (number 3 just at the top of the stairs with an amazing view and everything that you could ask for - ensuite, tv, radio alarm, tea making facilities) we headed out to explore Keswick.

Brierholme is situated in a perfect location for the town - just a quick walk across the carpark and we were in the market square checking out the stalls and wandering around the shops. After a wander through Hope Park and a trip on Derwent Water in the afternoon, as recommended by Gerry, we took up another recommendation and had dinner at Sienna's Bar & Grill which was excellent and catered for our party brilliantly.

After dinner and a few local drinks we made our way back to our cosy room at Brierholme and fell into the most comfortable bed and slept soundly - even the rain which was apparently very heavy didn't disturb us and we were glad that we had passed up the offer of a 6am hike as we were just too comfy!

Breakfast at Brierholme is a treat (served in the bright dining room complete with a bookcase full of books on Keswisk and the local area) with a huge selection of hot and cold options all prepared by Trevor (make your selection by 10pm the night before and the choice is yours). A particular favourite was the smoked haddock breakfast fish cakes and the poached eggs on muffins were also great. Topped off with plenty of toast, tea, juice and fruit as well as some handy hints from Gerry and Trevor on where to explore next on foot and bike, we were ready for the day!

This is a gem of a guest house and we'll be back for sure!!

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the very top - the views are just amazing.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed here on a walking weekend at the start of April. We found it from the stridingedge.net website and were not disappointed. As soon as we arrived, the owner welcomed us by name on the door step and was genuinely interested in where we had driven up from and had walked during the day. The rooms were very well equipped including full tea and coffee facilities, kettle and bottles of water. The flat screen tv was also a lovely idea. The owner gave a variety of names for good pubs and restaurants in the town to visit for an evening meal which was very useful. The breakfast was superb, and it was also great how we were able to read through thier wide collection of walking books in their dining room too. The dining room also has a copy of the mountain weather forecast to read during breakfast. Overall, a fantastic place to stay and I shall look forward to returning soon. Many thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDerbyshireTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews