We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindisfarne House

Lindisfarne House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lindisfarne House
Ranked #155 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Misleading”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

As per previous comments we had a very similar experience.My advice to anybody travelling to Keswick is that the area is beautifully and is serviced by scores of B and B accommodation,so I would recommend finding somewhere else.We booked our stay through Late rooms on the 24th.We then received an e-mail from the B and B on the 25th stating a price error had occured and that we would have to cancel or pay double.We contacted late rooms and they told us they had to honour the booking and price.We turned up but had I not checked my e-mail she might have give our room away as per previous e-mails.She mentioned the error on our arrival and blamed late rooms.Our room had a broken lock on the door which she said would be fixed the next day.It never got fixed nor did she offer to move us to one of the other 5 empty rooms she had.Like I said before plenty of other places in Keswick.She clearly doesn't care because otherwise she would read these comments and act accordingly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armstrong2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
9
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I didn't actually get the chance to stay in this b&b so i am not reviewing the facilities etc. I seen a good deal for it on laterooms so i booked it for 2 nights from Sunday 5th-Tues 7th May. (It was for our 33rd wedding anniversary). I received an email from the owner a few days later to say that laterooms had made a mistake in the pricing & the price quoted was per person per night NOT per night and i would have to get in touch with laterooms to either cancel or pay the higher price AND "sorry for any inconvenience". I spoke to someone at laterooms who said that the owner sets the price & that she should honour the price quoted. I decided to cancel anyway after reading reviews on here. I would be very careful if you are thinking of booking this b&b. If you really want to, pay a deposit & keep checking up on your booking. I have, eventually found alternative accomodation for these days and YES Alison, it was an inconvenience

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nettyjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Keswick hotels

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

There's a good supply of B&Bs in Keswick. Chris & Alison proved to be very welcoming on my arrival - helping me find somewhere to park my car. And there was no problem in arranging a breakfast before their usual time, to enable me to be off walking to Skiddaw and beyond, by 8.30.
Its a quiet street, but only a short walk to Moot Hall - and as I did, just leave the car parked up, and walk to Skiddaw.
Ralph Crouch

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Ok, so it's a budget b&b, so don't expect the world! But, I had 3 comfortable nights sleep at the lindisfarne house. For location, it's great, close to the moot hall, the lake and the excellent local cinema. Alison was a great host, providing good advice and seizable, tasty breakfasts. I'd stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollyolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I can't believe that the same thing happened to Paul B (previous reviewer) that happened to us quite some time ago...only we actually turned up on the doorstep on a Bank Holiday Saturday, to be told that our room booking for 2 nights had gone - she'd let it go to someone else (who I think wanted a 3-night booking) !!! We'd been staying outside Keswick during that previous week and were checking out of our accommodion on the Saturday and had decided that we'd like to stay an extra couple of days in Keswick inself. So, during that week we went into Keswick, found availability at this (excuse for a) B&B and booked in for the following Sat & Sun nights - I actually watched her writing it in the book.
Then we appeared on the Saturday with our bags to be told by HER that the room had gone as we "hadn't shown up the night before(Fri), when she was expecting us " ??? even though we didn't need a room that night before and I actually saw her write it in for the Sat & Sun !! No apology, just blunt rudeness - what an obnoxious woman !!
Being Bank Holiday, practically all other establishments were booked up and walked away fuming and were just lucky to come across one nearby who'd just had a cancellation (Thank God we did). What lovely people they were and lovely rooms. We explained what had happened, and they informed us that wasn't the first time she'd done that to guests as they'd put up other people in the same boat. She's a disgrace and anyone reading these reviews should stay away. There's plenty of other very nice, welcoming establishments in that area, run by warm & caring hosts !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HawkeyeLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I booked into this B&B online well in advance and sent a confirmation via email, as requested.

A week before my stay, I received another email from the B&B indicating that my room was no longer available, but that I could have another. I replied straightaway, indicating that this was acceptable.

I telephoned the B&B with two days before I was due to stay to confirm everything was in order, only to be informed that they had sold the room to someone else and had no more available.

I am very dissappointed to be treated in this way. Not only was my original booking completely disregarded, but the B&B was so incommunicative that had I not telephoned them to confirm, I presumably would have arrived in Keswick with nowhere to stay.

This is service at its worst.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

My room was spot on ,clean quiet and real comfy.The breakfast was also really good . I would not hesitate to stay here again. Virtually right in the town centre about 5 min walk.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandon Guest House
Sandon Guest House
#99 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#9 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#33 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Littlefield Guesthouse
Littlefield Guesthouse
#97 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#58 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melbreak House
Melbreak House
#162 of 177 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindisfarne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindisfarne House

Property: Lindisfarne House
Address: 21 Church Street, Keswick CA12 4DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindisfarne House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Despegar.com so you can book your Lindisfarne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing