We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brundholme Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Me and my wife very much enjoyed our stay at the Brundholme Bed and Breakfast. The room was beautiful with great view, the breakfast was delicious and Barry made us feel really welcome as we just got married in Gretna Green. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimiZoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
111
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was the highlight of the trip for me. My husband and I stayed here for one night in July 13 and were given a room up on the top floor. While this was a room that was not facing the lake, it was actually a great room as the sun didn't come in at the end of the day and when we were there it was particularly warm. The room had a king size bed (though actually 2 singles pushed together) and was a welcome change from the tiny beds that we had been subjected to at other places. The bathroom was a bit small, but still functional.
The breakfast in the morning was excellent and the hosts do everything to make you feel welcome. Well Done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misterchester12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent last night here, what a great b & b! Was better than some hotels we have stayed in and half the cost. Breakfast was wonderful, rooms lovely, hosts great. Will be returning here, with out hesitation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keren77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I can only re-iterate what others have said really! Great guest house, run by welcoming hosts, in a fantastic location, with a great breakfast. We stayed in room 1 which was light and airy with fabulous views. Our friends stayed in room 5 which had its own separate entrance, was lovely and cosy and had a gorgeous bathroom.
We really enjoyed our stay, the location was ideal, a stroll to the lake and Theatre, and a stroll the other way to the shops, pubs and restaurants. We will certainly return to Brundholme, couldn't fault this place.

Room Tip: If a view is important, room 1 is ideal. If you prefer a ground floor room with a separate entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie30B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in bedroom 1 which faces south, the views were fantastic. The bed was very comfortable and we liked the sofa as we sat and admired the view out the window.
There was a good choice at breakfast, with one of the best choices, I have seen for cereal and fruit. The egg omelettes and scrambled eggs are definitely a good choice if you don't fancy the very good full English breakfast.
Barry & Alison are excellent hosts, we would go back there.

Room Tip: Front 2 rooms give best views, best to phone Barry & Alison to book room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_John_1-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We chose this after reading Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. lovely central location - walk one way to Derwentwater and the other to the town centre. We managed to park right outside on the street - no charge - but there is a carpark round the back too. Great welcoming hosts, lovely house. we had room 5 which doesnt have views as it is on the ground floor but is very cosy and has a great en-suite with walk in shower, huge bath etc. Breakfasts were lovely, made to order and very tasty. Would definitely return to Keswick and to Brundholme. We ate out twice locally - good choice of pubs, restaurants, coffee shops etc. We would recommend LB's Pizza house which looks quite sparse outside but once inside is buzzing with atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karens_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Made to feel VERY welcome by Barry and Alison.

The room was spacious and what a view!! Right over Crow Park and the mountains. Close to the Keswick town centre and Derwent Water.

The bed was comfortable, the room has lovely furniture, nice tv and tea making facilities - chunky mugs not fiddly teacups and saucers!

Beautiful bedding and linen and large comfortable beds. The room was warm but the large sash windows let plenty of fresh air in if needed.

The decor was impeccable and the dining room was modern in design. I'm not a big fan of square bowls though!!

The food was just superb and Barry is like some kind of Omelette King in my eyes!

Just good news all round if you stay here. Private parking at the rear of the property too.

My partner and I were walk up guests - not pre booked and asked about at all of the adjacent guest houses and hotels and made our mind up based on price first but what a surprise - I reckon we got a better stay that the £90pp night rooms!!!!!! AT £35pp Barry and Alison have got it spot on!! Just perfect and will definitely come back. thank you

First time I have EVER given a maximum rating for everything on offer at a guesthouse - I didn't try the sausages though ;-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkydiveAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#33 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#28 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#20 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#32 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.0 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#56 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brundholme Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brundholme Bed and Breakfast

Property: Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Address: Brundholme The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brundholme Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brundholme is a Victorian house in the heart of Keswick with fantastic views from the bedrooms and dining room of Catbells Hills and from the rear views of Skiddaw. We are five minutes walk from the centre of town, theatre and lake with free car parking.we have 5 bedrooms 4 have king or twin beds 1 with king bed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Book Direct Rooms and Hotel.de so you can book your Brundholme Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing