We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent venue for a get together!”

Review of CLOUD END, Keswick

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jane B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for a get together!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our children planned this holiday for our ruby wedding anniversary as we all love the lakes. There were 2 children and 6 adults, the venue was fantastic, where everyone had their own area if they wanted to get away from each other! The house had everything we wanted and more. The views were fantastic and most of the walks we did were available from the house. The week we were there the weather was fantastic (which helped), in fact too hot on occasions! There is no umbrella on the terrace (which we found out from previous reviews) so took our own which was very helpful each night.
Yes the walk up from Keswick was hard, but also a good work out!! You do get a free parking ticket for the car park, which helps.
All in all a very good time was had by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, views, layout and comfort
Liked least: There was no dustpan and brush to sweep floors.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, West Midlands
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sylforyou
Middleton in Teesdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second visit - disappointed and let down by Lakes Cottage Holidays”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

After staying at Cloud End in 2012 and enjoying the beautiful house, scenery and high standard of presentation, we had no qualms about returning again this year to enjoy another family holiday with our two elderly mothers.
What a disappointment, we arrived at 3.05pm as our documentation stated we could gain access from 3pm onwards. The cleaner was still there but said she only had 10 minutes cleaning left to do. After she left we had a good look around and realised that the presentation of the property was not of the same standard as 2012.
It was dirty, nowhere had been vacuumed - the living room carpet had remains of biscuits and crisps, after 30 minutes vacuuming with the inadequate small attachment on the Dyson (all that was available) my brother-in-law found the large head for the vacuum wedged under a wardrobe - no wonder it was dirty, There were dirty underpants and socks in bedroom drawers and a charger left from previous occupants. The toilets were dirty and on the kitchen floor there was a garlic clove and a month's worth of dust etc behind the door. All the furniture looked like it hadn't been dusted for weeks. Four of our party spent a total of 10 hours cleaning to bring this property up to an acceptable standard.
Photos were taken, letters and documentation showing that arrival was from 3pm was sent to Lakes Cottage Holidays complaining. The final letter from Lakes Cottage Holidays basically called us liars, stating that we had arrived at 2.10pm (which was not true) and that our photos (which were all dated) were inconclusive. A shame that all their documentation didn't give the same access time to the property.
BEWARE OF LAKES COTTAGE HOLIDAYS, who manage this property, the cleaning is obviously done on a budget, and their complaint procedure is appalling. It is such a beautiful house with stunning views just badly managed by Lakes Cottage Holidays. What a shame, while Lakes Cottage Holidays have anything to do with the property we won't be returning again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The dirty toilets and kitchen
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2013
Thank you for your review on this property.

We are sorry to hear that your stay at this property was not an enjoyable one.

We have investigated the issues you have raised above.

Our records show that you called the office at 4pm on the day of arrival to advise us that the floors and work surfaces in the kitchen were not clean. You were advised that we would contact the cleaner immediately and get her to return to the property to rectify any issues you may have had. You declined the offer and stated that you would carry out the cleaning yourself.

We discussed the issues you raised with the cleaner and we were informed that you had arrived at the property earlier than the normal 4pm check in. A copy of your booking confirmation has been sent to you for your information.

She also advised us that on arrival at the property you were unhappy to see that the cleaner was still there. Comments were made to the cleaner by members of your party, stating that she should not have been there when you arrived. The cleaner stated that you were welcome to stay in the lounge and have a cup of tea while she finished cleaning the kitchen. Another member of your party then suggested that you would go out for a drive while the cleaner finished her duties. At this point you decided that you were going to stay in and wait until the cleaner had finished. This situation can be difficult for the cleaner, when guests arrive early and are clearly unhappy that they are unable to fully occupy the property.

We were unable to help you resolve this problem as you refused for a cleaner to return to view the cleanliness issues you had.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and have fully investigated all the issues you have raised. A response to your complaint from our company and Managing Director have also been sent.

We are sorry for inconvenience caused during your stay and hope to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewed June 13, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stourbridge
Reviewed May 16, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Essex
Reviewed March 28, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hassocks West Sussex
Reviewed January 10, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$706
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Talk to the Manager
448455280176
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing