We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just heavenly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside
Ranked #136 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
wirral
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“just heavenly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is my second review for Hillside, I left a review about a year ago but its always good to have an update review. we try to stay at Hillside twice a year. my husband and I have extremely busy jobs and feel forever rushed and tired but as soon as we head up to Hillside we both immediately start to unwind knowing that we are about to be so well looked after and the surroundings are truly tranquil and refreshing. Eleanor is a wonderful lady, ever so caring and attentive without being intrusive. she greets you like friends and nothing is too much trouble. when we arrived on Tuesday we didn't arrive until after 4.30.p.m. as we didn't want to waste a single minute once in the lakes! unfortunately we were caught out in a rain shower and we were wet through. Eleanor showed us to our room where it was warm, cosy and with an abundance of fluffy warm towels, so nice. Eleanor left us to dry off and offered a steaming pot of freshly brewed coffee and cake. once dry and changed we sat in the snug with a roaring fire and a tray of delights.
Breakfast at Hillside is a real treat, lots of cereals and fresh juice as well as a beautiful cooked breakfast consisting of fresh eggs, sausage, black pudding, bacon, potato farls, beans, mushrooms, freshly brewed coffee or tea and lots of toast, with selection of jams and marmalades, such a gorgeous feast. although if you feel like something a little lighter Eleanor will oblige no problem. the breakfast area looks out onto the garden and its a real treat to see all the wildlife I could happily sit there for hours.
the bedrooms are beautifully furnished with supreme bedding, tv, welcome trays with lots of drinks and goodies. ensuites are extremely modern and clean with lots of fluffy towels and toiletries. a really nice touch is the fluffy white towelling robes and slippers I've never had that anywhere in the lakes, its a really nice touch. I have stayed in both rooms and both are beautiful. the views from both rooms are stunning. I deliberately leave the curtains open of an evening because on waking the mountains are magnificent and the first thing you see from the bedroom window. one of the guest rooms has two ensuites! one with shower and one with roll top bath, so nice to have a choice. my husband loves it as he states he has his own bathroom, while I'm in the other with the roll top bath.
There is a pub just over the road which is nice if you don't want to take the car. there are also several pubs within a couple of miles drive, I like The White Horse really tasty food.
Portinscale is an excellent place to stay we love it. you have a little village with a pub, beautiful walks with lovely coffee shops for afternoon delights, you can walk into Keswick 15 minutes, beautiful marina, Nichols End. Its a little secret that has it all.
As soon as we leave Hillside we try to book for our next visit as we would be extremely disappointed if we couldn't get in.
Again well done Eleanor on your little piece of heaven. we will be back soon xxx

Room Tip: both rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snoopyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful B&B Hillside is! Nothing was left out, we were sad we had only booked the one night though.
Eleanor was extremely welcoming and even kept in touch via email prior to our stay to confirm dietary requirements, advise driving directions etc. we stayed during a very rainy week, so it was lovely to have tea and cakes awaiting us on arrival by the fire. As other reviews state here, Eleanor was extremely knowledgeable and advised us how to get to the brilliant little pub Farmers Arms by foot for a brilliant dinner, the next day she advised us the best roads to take to make the most of our half day driving round the lakes and it's just a beautiful area

The room was everything we'd hoped for and more- robes and slippers, big fluffy towels, the best toiletries, chocolates to accompany our in room tea and coffee, flowers by the window and beautiful views.

Breakfast was, as others also say here, the best we've had anywhere (and our driving trip the UK we had many of them!)- Cumbrian sausage, eggs as you like them, toast, baked beans, black pudding, mushroom, tomato, cereal, lactose free milk for me, yogurt (i just ate the compote), tea and coffee, all with a warm fire and watching the chickens in the garden- lovely!

Best value for money too- the Australian equivalent of the nightly rate charged here would only get us a basic hotel in Australia

Will definitely return someday!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for four nights as we were visiting for a wedding in St Johns in Keswick on the Saturday and we thought we would like to have a short break too whilst we were there.
It was everything we could have wished. Eleanor is a lovely host, not at all intrusive but gave great advice regarding the area and truly made us feel more like friends than guests.
She has created a warm and inviting B&B which was spotlessly clean and also quite luxurious making her guests feel positively, pampered.
Partly thanks to her local knowledge, our luck with the weather and the proximity of a great local pub the Farmers Arms and the easy access to whole days entertainment of a trip on the Keswick launch we were able to cram in so much we feel we have been away for ages.
If you like delicious local sourced food and a relaxing trip to a beautiful area you will not find a better B&B our view and I would not hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: I would maybe pay a little extra for Skiddaw but Latrigg was perfectly adequate for us and you can a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spongemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed two nights at Hillside. We were made most welcome with coffee and cakes. The room was fabulous. Ensuite bathroom and a shower room. Comfy bed, spotless,endless hotwater. Great. The breakfast, well, nothing was omitted. It was delicious. The garden is beautiful and the views are magnificent. The owners are friendly, chatty and relaxed. Hillside is dog friendly but if you are not, you wouldnt be offended. Chickens in the garden, perfect. See you in November.

Room Tip: It doesnt matter, one room has a shower, one room has both bath and shower. There is another room wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Eleanor and Phil made sure our stay at Hillside was perfect from the moment we arrived.
The room we stayed in (Latrig)had a tv, huge bed and lots of storage space for our clothes. The en suite was equipped with a powerful shower which was lovely after a long day of walking! Also, the view of the fells, Latrig and Skiddaw, to wake up to each day was truly spectacular.
In the morning breakfast was a real feast: yoghurts, cereals, and a huge cooked breakfast (mine was vegetarian which was arranged via email) and tea and coffee were refilled as many times as we requested.
Although we didn't bring our pet, pets were allowed so next time we'll be bringing our labrador!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XabiAlonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Been going to the Lake District for 10 years now on breaks and holidays and found Hillside to be the best B&B we have stayed in up to now.
I have paid 50% more than the hillside rates for rooms that were not up to the standard and cleanliness of Hillside B&b.
A Proper Cumbrian breakfast sets you up for the fells and the owners are very friendly and informative.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jp1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Really pleased we chose to stay at Hillside, the views are every bit as stunning as the pictures show. Eleanor and Phil are excellent hosts, very friendly and helpful. The bed in our room was sooo comfy and the bedding extremely clean as was the bathroom and towels. Loved having a big fluffy dressing gown to wrap up in although it was very warm during our stay - end July 2013
Fresh flowers in the room was a lovely touch. The walk into Keswick is really pleasant and literally a 5 minute drive for those not able to walk.
Only negative I can think of is the traffic noise from the busy A66, this is not a major problem but as it was so hot when we stayed we had to have the windows open, when closed it was very peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dalegarth House
Dalegarth House
#2 of 9 in Portinscale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Portinscale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.0 mi away
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
#4 of 8 in Braithwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside

Property: Hillside
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing