We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise found” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside
Ranked #132 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
wirral
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“paradise found”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

May I start by saying we have visited the lakes for many years (over 10 years) and we are constantly drawn to the village of Portinscale.
We decided to stay at the wonderful Hillside just through reading such wonderful things on TA.
I will try to keep this short, which will unfortunately be hard as I have so much to say about Hillside. The very warm hospitality of owner Eleanor, she is a friendly wee lass with the most hospitable presence you are ever likely to meet. The difference with Eleanor's b and b well just look around the place and it spells warmth, nature and a general love of all things fine. Eleanor herself is informative and knowledgeable without being intrusive. nothing is too much trouble. I honestly cannot describe how relaxed and at one with nature I felt on entering this homely place. We had the room with an en suite shower (double HUGE) and although would have liked the other room with two bathrooms! One with shower and one with huge bath i can honestly say was not disappointed. our bathroom was much bigger than a typical en suite, the shower as mentioned was a huge double shower spotlessly clean and a sense of nature with ornate mirrors and beautiful pictures. Towels were abundant and oozed freshness and fluffiness. The rest of the room was cozy with a lovely comfortable large bed, which produced the most sought after sleep us townies only dream about. there was soft lighting for reading and a rare find was to have two large fluffy toweling robes with slippers, how lovely, (nice touch) Fresh roses adorned the room and ample supply of coffees, teas and fruit teas etc. nice china cups instead of usual mugs felt homely and tasteful. there was a wall mounted TV but to be honest just look out of the window and take your entertainment there! lots of birds, hens and a vast array of wildlife was wonderful to watch. the mountain views are spectacular and i think one of the best views I have had the pleasure of.
Breakfast was another pleasure come down to the little snug with a roaring wood burner which was crackling and cozy and brace yourself for a hearty breakfast, fresh juices and cereals and museli, followed by a delicious hot breakfast. bacon, sausage, black pudding, tomatoes, mushrooms, eggs which way you like, potato cakes, toast, jams, coffee or tea, how nice that my husband and I had our own coffee pots each! A little classical music and again that spectacular mountain and garden view.
Sorry to waffle on but I may have just found that so called piece of heaven. We are planning on returning to HIlliside in September and to be honest cannot wait.
PS forget to mention our dog Alfie had a wonderful time and was so fussed. in fact I'm looking at him now and he looks a tad sad and I fully agree with him that we had to leave such a wonderful place!

Room Tip: Both rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

A very friendly welcome awaits at this excellent bed and breakfast. Very clean, wonderful food and lovely bedroom. Will definitely be staying here when we visit the North Lakes again, and will be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

almost don't want to leave a great review, because it might mean that it will be booked up when we want to come and stay again, but can't NOT! Big thank you to Eleanor and Phil for your hospitality, and a big well done for creating such a lovely house, and b and b experience. Great room, great breakfast, great views. couldn't ask for more. looking forward to our return visit in the spring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbob_and_zo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We (including our cocker spaniel) have visited Hillside twice this year and each time our stay has been perfect and our experience has been exactly as described by the other reviewers. We are made to feel completely at home and it really is such a shame to have to leave, we would not consider staying anywhere else when we are visiting the lakes as it does feel like home from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubytuescm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Everything about this place is perfect, the setting, the hosts, the breakfast, the rooms, the locations.............I want to be there right now!

Eleanor is fantastic, she looks after her residents with an amazing amount of care and consideration. Just be warned, give up the diet at the door!

We have been twice this year, once as a couple with our dog and then with our friends who were as impressed as we were!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esse, Poitou-Charentes, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

From the moment that we arrived at Hillside, we were struck by the warm, welcoming ambiance. Eleanor made us most welcome with a cup of tea by the log fire. Our bedroom was very pretty & comfortable & equipped with everything one could possibly need and capped by a splendid panorama of Latrigg from the bedroom window - so romantic! There is an excellent pub within walking distance to make the perfect package. I only wish that we could have stayed longer. Book Hillside now for a perfect break in the Lakes.

Room Tip: There's only two so you cannot lose!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Thank you Eleanor and Phil for a fanstastic break. The most comfortable room, spacious , airey, very clean and cozy. We were made to feel very welcome at this fantasic lovely home. After a very comfortable night we were met with a 5 star breakfast. Nothing was a bother to both hosts, the quality of the service they provide is second to none.
Highly recommend this hidden little gem, and we are looking forward to our return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDobbs1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalegarth House
Dalegarth House
#2 of 9 in Portinscale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
#3 of 8 in Braithwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coledale Inn
Coledale Inn
#2 of 8 in Braithwaite
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside

Property: Hillside
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing