We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay at Hillside”
Review of Hillside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside
Ranked #149 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Everything about the house, rooms, gardens, breakfasts and welcome has already been said. I would like to add that we came as a family, with 3 boys, and Eleanor and Phil were very accommodating in squeezing them all into Latrigg so my husband and I could have Skiddaw to ourselves. A real treat! Phil was supposed to be on holiday, but he gave us his time and attention which was greatly appreciated - the lovely tea and coffee he provided for us in the garden with choice of cake (on our arrival after a long drive) was a real highlight, especially as the sun was shining over Skiddaw! Nothing was too much trouble and we left feeling that we were leaving friends rather than proprietors. Outside the front door is a collection of heart shaped slates and stones - this gives an indication of the caring nature of the inhabitants. We would love to return. Other Bed and Breakfast establishments would do well to visit and see how it should be done.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely, but Skiddaw has the amazing view from the bed, and the added bonus of 2 en su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 50 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

If you want to stay at a place that seems to come straight out of a fairytale, choose Hillside. The village of Keswick is lovely and picturesque and Hillside B&B fits right in. The garden is a dream and the house is cosy, with wonderful views on Mount Skiddaw and Mount Latrigg from both guestrooms. We stayed in the Skiddaw-room, which was great because the room was very cosy and clean. A nice place to be.
Hillside is only a short walk away from the centre of Keswick. There are also lots of lovely walks nearby.
Breakfast is really, really good and tasteful by the way.
Eleanor really tried her best to make our stay as comfortable as possible and she's a very warm and lovely person. She also knows a lot about all the fun things that you can do in and around Keswick. Thank you so much Eleanor. I really hope to come back sometime.
Tieske (Tessy's daughter)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TieskeSch S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

lovely old house, beautiful garden, good rates, very nice people and an excellent breakfast made this a perfect stay in Keswick. The house is a little difficult to find at first although it's only a short walk from the town center. Eleanor and Phil are very friendly and helpful and even speak a little French (Phil). Cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juerg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Well what can i say no way did we wanna come home from start to finish perfect in every way hospitality and food. reception was perfect fresh coffee when we arrived followed by being shown to our wonderful room roses and champers ready view amazing in the skiddaw room bedding beautiful i cant really explain how we felt i was totally blown away with everything and the breakfast was amazing.Eleanor and john are amazing people the did everything to make out stay magical even the log fire and the fresh coffee they could not do enough thank you so much for making our stay magical i understand now why you pride yourselves on your guest house and the secret garden is amazing could if stayed for ever like in the book the secret garden because u really do have a magical place for anybody stopping. even down the hens x amazing place thankyou so much Mr and Mrs Quayle john and sharon

Room Tip: just ask for the skiddaw room the bathroom is amazing under floor heating roll top bath try it is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imzardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

What a fantastic host Eleanor is, friendly, welcoming and knows the area better than any guide book, but even them and maps are available for your use.
Our Border Collie [ OZZIE ] was made very much at home in our room, and made his home under the bed, and never heard a thing from him.
We stayed in the Latrigg room, this one does-not have a bath but instead has a brilliant shower cubicle.
And one could very easily get used to waking up to that view.
The weather was not the kindest during our 4 day stay, having arrived during the wettest June on record, but hay! it is the Lake District and even Eleanor has no control over that.
Beatiful home, super breakfasts, great hosts, when we return to Cumbria this will be where we stay for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

A superb warm welcome awaited us when we arrived in the Lakes. Our host Elenor, made us feel really at home; smashing food, (blueberry porrige - fantastic for Skiddaw trip), log burning stove and beautiful views from the dining room and our bedroom, in the Skiddaw room. The best surprise was the lovely roll top bath, very welcome after climbing Skiddaw, and walking around Derwentwater. Lovely to be able to reduce the driving by being able to walk into Keswick and we will definitely be returning to Eleanors lovely home.
Best wishes Caroline and Andrew, Oundle

Room Tip: Skiddaw room a bit quieter as house on main road, but don't let that deter you, it a gem of a B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Better than all the rest ! Two nights - not enough, we will be back. Looking forward to a winter break sitting in front of the log fire and enjoying that wonderful view. Great welcome. Breakfast first class, beautiful room. Thank you Eleanor (& family)
Best wishes Moe & Doug.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milingano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
6.3 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
0.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
770 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
318 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing