We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful festive”
other travelers have booked this property
Brook House 1 lounge with cosy woodburner stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brook House 1 lounge with cosy woodburner stove
another photo of lounge with woodburner stove Brook House 1 - By a stream with ducks lovely cottage with 4 bedrooms , sleeps 4-8  in quiet village
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Brook House 1 lounge with cosy woodburner stove
another photo of lounge with woodburner stove
Brook House 1 - By a stream with ducks lovely cottage with 4 bedrooms , sleeps 4-8  in quiet village
Brook House 1 garden in summer
View from 3 of the bedrooms looking to the stream
Brook House  kitchen seating for 10 modern and well equipped
part of kitchen looking through to lounge
hallway and towards  modern wet room
Downstairs wetroom there is an en-suite bedroom too making three bathrooms in total
Twin bedroom overlooking garden and stream
modern bathroom
Brook House 1. garden
Brook House from across the stream
Children feeding the ducks by the stream opposite the cottage
Blue bells in Spring in the wood opposite the cottage
The stream across the road from the cottage
Our puddle ducks
The puddle ducks again
Letting the ducks out of their shed in the morning and egg collecting time
Feeding the ducks
Henny penny from the farm visiting the ducks
The view from the road across from the cottage towards Skiddaw mountain - 4th highest in England
Bassenthwaite Lake - 1.75 miles away - a flat easy walk or drive
View of Skiddaw mountain taken 15 min walks from cottage
Lambing time on the farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cathy1new...
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful festive”
Reviewed December 20, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We had three generations of family, a Christmas tree, huge log fire, pub around the corner, warm, cosy and immaculately clean what more can be asked for. Despite the floods, snow and roads being washed away the people of Cumbria were cheerful and very welcoming. Mrs As husband very kindly got us some milk and bread as we were unable to get through to the shops. Mrs A gave us a great welcome and was on the end of the phone with directions and a lovely log fire burning away when we arrived after our journey from Nth Ireland. The beds are comfy and the views from the windows are wonderful, the ducks waddle about and swim in the stream. My grandchildren loved them and so did the adults, they are great fun to watch. All in all we had a great time and will be defiantly be back, thank you so much Allison
Regard Cathy Baker and the family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2015
Hi, Thank you for your kind review, we aim to please always! Hope to see you on a return visit. Despite the recent news, our village cottages have not flooded . This is an ideal place for country walks, re-charging batteries, and chilling out with beautiful scenery all around you, in our quiet corner of Cumbria, with the added interest of our comical Indian Runner Ducks! Look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debserrec...
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“An absolute must for family breaks!”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from a fantastic stay at brook house cottage, the cottage was was even better than we imagined, very spacious, very cosy and perfect for our family break. The location was perfect and a lovely pub around the corner the sun inn. We all didnt want to leave, would definatley book to stay again!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisa M
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional, home away from home!”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our second on visit to cottages. So comfortBle with everything you need and more. Very well appointed full kitchen with all you need to cook up a storm, if you want. A wall to the locAl pub for a meal or drink.2 bathrooms comfortable beds open fire three lounges to relax on. Great for a group. Ducks and ducklings in the brook by the door, beautiful walks from the village, what more could you want!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property and Alison the owner
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpetjui...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We went as a group of friends for 3 days wanting to climb mountains and see what Keswick had to offer. The cottage is situated in a nice area with a steam at the bottom of the garden and is very spacious it has everything you need . There is a pub around the corner The Sun Inn with delicious food. Skiddaw is only a 5 minute drive and helvellyn a 20 minute drive, we will be going back .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stacey L
bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Break”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Brook House 1 was wonderful. We came as a group of 8 friends and had a fantastic stay. The house is comfortable and Allison looked after us very well.
Would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: open fire
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing