We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing stay at The Skiddaw Hotel.”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dissappointing stay at The Skiddaw Hotel.”
Reviewed October 11, 2006

I was among'st six people who stayed at the Skiddaw Hotel recently. We payed £145 each for two nights, including B+B and Dinner for the second night. I found the hotel to be in an excellent location, positioned in the middle of Keswick town centre.
The parking arrangement was dissappointing. We had to park the car overnight in an unsecure public car park. There was only four car parking spaces in the actual hotel grounds, one of which was taken up by a skip!! The parking was free however, using a parking permit provided by the hotel, with a £20 refundable deposit.
The breakfast was enjoyable, with plenty on offer. However, I found the dinner to be dissappointing. I ordered the sirloin steak, which unfortunately resembled a cremated lamb chop. The sticky toffee pudding and custard took my mind back to those primary school dinners of dried sponge and lumpy custard.
I found the rooms to be generally clean and tidy. There were ear plugs positioned inside the rooms, I suspect due to the adjoining night club.
Generally I found this hotel to be over priced and over rated. It is positioned in an excellent location, but I suggest one of the many nearby B+B's for a more personnal and value for money stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sumpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    245
    103
    39
    24
See reviews for
86
450
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

A pleasant weekend in the Lakes but the Skiddaw hotel was very dissapointing for the following reasons:
*the hotel is overpriced in terms of the service received and the facilities that are available - certainly isn't the luxury they describe on their website.
*If staying on a Saturday night you have to have the evening meal in their restaurant.
* Of the four food courses - the melon wasn't ripe, there cream of tomato soup was watery, the venison had no taste at all, and the sticky toffe pudding was lacking a key ingredient - the toffee!
* Some rooms come with free entertainment in the shape of a disco until the early hours from the hotel owned nightclub nextdoor.
* The sauna facilities weren't working.
* Parking is terrible with only staff parking and a skip in the hotel car park - but you will have fun driving round and round the public car-park looking for a space.
*The bedroom was comfortable and clean but dated with no locks on the doors, a missing television, and a trickle for a shower.

In summary the central location is good but you'd be better saving money and staying in one of the excellent B&Bs.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

We stayed at the Skiddaw Hotel for a walking weekend and booked for 6 people.

The hotel placed me in a single room which had ear plugs on the bedside table! The window of which faced out onto the entrance to a nightclub (The Loft) which is owned by the same company as the hotel. The Friday night was ok but the Saturday night was noisy with loud bass and music keeping me awake.

When we complained the manager was dismissive saying that others had not complained and they could do nothing about the noise. This was untrue since they own the nightclub!

The booking had to include an evening meal on the Saturday night, and whilst mine was ok, the other guys ordered venison which was tasteless.

The room for 2 nights, breakfast and evening meal cost £145 and I am sure there are much better deals to be had in Keswick.

I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank emkerfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2006

Stayed here over the Spring Bank Holiday weekend for our wedding anniversary, so treated ourselves to a Summit Room on a Daffodail break - dinner, bed & breakfast for 2 nights, and extra night bed & breakfast free.
Room was lovely on the top floor, with a huge comfortable bed, flat/LCD TV, lovely bathroom with double-ended bath - great for soaking weary limbs after a day's walking (in the rain!). Only negative would be the noise from the main square late at night - not the hotel's fault and at least they do provide ear plugs! Hotel's wesbite did say the summit rooms had hairdryer and bathrobes. Our's had neither but a hairdryer was provided when we asked for it.
Dinner was excellent - 4 courses plus coffee/tea. The wine list was quite extensive and reasonably priced. The hotel offers a 'dine around, so for a supplement you can experience dinner at other hotel's in the group. You can also use the leisure facilities at the Lodore Falls Hotel about 10 minutes drive away - we didn't but we did walk past the hotel and it looked lovely.
Hotel only has it's own car park for about 4 cars, but you can get a parking permit (for a refundable deposit) to part for free in the public car park at the back of the hotel. We didn't move our car the whole time we were there as there was some fantastic walks out of Keswick
Overall we had a lovely stay - we would stay at the Skiddaw again - we had a lovely relaxing weekend - despite the weather!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2006

We travelled to Keswick with friends for my husbands 40th birthday, booking two double rooms (Summit rooms) as part of a booster break (Buy one night DB&B and get a second night B&B free). It was an enjoyable trip away.
We love Keswick.The Skiddaw Hotel enjoys an excellent location on the Main Street. Free parking is available on the public car park at the rear by using a car parking permit available from reception for a £20 refundable deposit.The check in was quick, room was excellent and obviously recently refurbed. Some refurb was taking place on the stairwells of the hotel, but it was not intrusive. Food was good but not excellent. Service was extremely good in restaurant, bar and all hotel.

On the first evening of our stay I lost my purse. Staff on duty were extremely helpful and contacted places where I thought I may have lost it. Also allowed me use of their office computer to put a stop on the credit cards I had in my purse. They advised me to contact police following morning because "They're an honest lot round here" and that it may be handed in. They were right. The following day we collected it from the Police Station with all cards and cash still in!

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hvgazzacrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 5, 2006

This is my 4th visit to the Skiddaw in the past 2 years and everytime we visit it just gets better and better. The staff at the hotel are so friendly and make your stay through out very enjoyable with the personal touch even with the hotel manager. He was always visable around the hotel during the weekend ensuring that are stay was superb.
The food in the hotel was excellent any requests etc as some of our party are vegiteran and vegan was all catered for even down to the children too as they can be fussy at times.
The hotel has been through a refurbishment and the standards of the rooms are excellent. If you have a family the hotel provided excellent facilities for this too. Over all as previous reviews have mentioned there is a little bit of noise from the stall holders setting up on a saturday and deliveries etc but this is part if the atmosphere of the Skiddaw. What more can we say - Excellent visit and yes we have booked to return again for Christams and next year. Well done everyone at the Skiddaw!!!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
448 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,052 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Property: The Skiddaw Hotel
Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing