We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel at lakes”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Popped into town for a weekend night and some locals recommended we stay here. Glad we did!

Friendly staff, great breakfast included, and a great location!

Some other lake distict hotels were so shabby and run down. Not this one though. We were given our choice of rooms and we picked the most modern. It was a nice treat right in the heart of town!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 787 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2008

Booked the weekend break deal including breakfast and evening meals.
The food and waiting staff were great, the thing that ruined the break was the noise from their function room followed by the noise from the joining night club until 3am!!!!

When booking we were not told we were above a function room and we were not told that a function was booked in on the Saturday night, the level of noise was louder that the TV in the room and kept my family awake until 12:30 am, that was then followed by repeated bass music from the night club joined to the back of the hotel.

I paid for the first night, which was peaceful but refused to pay for the second. The rooms are also dated and in need of a lick of paint.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jklski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

The Skiddaw is an old world type hotel with modern bedrooms and friendly staff the breakfast is one to stop you eating for the rest of the day it is that big all in all a good value base to get into the lakes

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank germanshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

We have just come back from the Skiddaw, our second visit this year. I have previously posted that this, in my opinion, is the best hotel in Keswick and my opinion has not changed.
Ideally situated in the centre of Keswick, great if you just want to browse round the shops, enjoy walking in the hills or exploring further afield. It is within easy walking distance of Lake Derwent.

The staff at The Skiddaw continue to be a great team of the highest standard, nothing is too much trouble, all professional, friendly, helpful and polite.
There have been many changes over the years that we have stayed here all to improve the hotel - well it has all come together nicely resulting in a hotel that has modern rooms that are beautifully and individually decorated. The bar and restaurant have been newly redecorated too.
The recently completed conservatory is lovely and is an absolute bonus, great to grab a glass of fizz , sit back and just watch the world go by.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

After having a terrible hotel experience in Wales at Easter we were so looking forward to coming back to our favourite walking spot in the Lakes. I chose the Skiddaw because I knew it was right in the centre of Keswick and after a hard days walking all we want to do is shower relax and dine.
Upon arriving we were greeted very warmly by the receptionist who was very helpful and explained the car parking situation. They do not have a large car park but provide a car park pass for the public car park behind the hotel. You put this in your car for the duration of your stay. Otherwise it would have been quite difficult parking. This was a bonus.
She also asked us what time we would like to dine that evening and informed us of the usual facilities of the hotel
The room we had was near the back of the hotel and was quiet and very very cleane with excellent facilities. Bathroom had a large tub with shower and scalding hot water The Hotel looked as though it has been refurbished in many of the areas including our room.
We noticed they were also just putting the finishing touches to the conservatory built at the front- I think this will a lovely enhancement to the bar, which is like a cosy nook, keeping many traditional features. (a change from the Cafe type culture you seem to see in new builds)
We booked for dinner on the first evening. -the Menu is in the reception for you to look at. (a good idea ) It was nice to see a well laid out dining room with beautiful decor. We had a three course meal which was nicely presented, but if I have any comment to make regarding this, the vegetables were somewhat overcooked. On the whole though the meal was good. On the second night we decided to eat out, BIG mistake, we wished we had stayed in the Skiddaw, but at the time we didn't fancy what was on the menu in the hotel. Though were were informed by reception we could have eaten next door at the Kings Head. We shall remember that for our next visit...
Even though we had snow during our stay we manged two lovely walks without getting very wet.... What more can you ask for in this beautiful part of the country. Fantastic walking and a great hotel to stay in and relax at the end of it all.
I would like to thank all the staff at this hotel making my husbands birthday weekend one he will remember for years come. We will be back very soon, hopefully.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

I'm very sorry to all the fans of this hotel but unfortunately we were rather disappointed. We paid to upgrade to a summit double, not worth it in the slightest. All you get extra are 2 bath robes, sparkling water and showergel (all of which I would expect from a standard double).
The conservatory was not finished as was advertised in their leaflet and instead it was a bit of a building site. The rooms are meant to have been recently refurbished, perhaps but unfortunately they nor the bathroom were above standard. The corridors were a little dated, a good lick of paint perhaps.
On a more positive note: The staff were friendly and the location is excellent. The hotel offers parking in a public car park to the rear of the property as you can not get vehicle access to the front, a small £20 deposit is required for a permit, this being returned on leaving. Derwent Water is only a couple of minutes walk away and you are situated in the heart of keswick.
The breakfast was ok, typical english breakfast. Bacon, Sausage, egg, hash brown, beans and fried bread.
I would only stay at this hotel again if I managed to get an excellent deal, it certainly wasn't worth full price. Sorry.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mishyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

Spent x3 nights in this hotel - they had promised me peace and quiet! Instead, I had electricians and builders working in adjoining rooms, no carpets on the landings and dust everywhere.

Breakfast: one sausage, congealed beans, bit of bacon, hash brown? and an egg which could just as easily have been a silicone implant.

I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EricPode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
676 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
766 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
481 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,178 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: $131 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing