We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very well run hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
west yorks
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very well run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated on the Main Street which is very noisy through the night! There is a night club not too far and the taxi pick customers up outside the skiddaw. Our room was facing onto the Main Street so sleep was disturbed quite a few times through the night. The rooms are clean and comfy, there are quite a few floors to walk up but there is also a lift, the bar area has a great atmosphere through the day and night serving good food! The staff are extremely welcoming and attentive, we booked an evening meal at the hotel as we have heard its good, it was a limited menu but was lovely food from the starters to the pudding, really enjoyed it even though as soon as you've finished a course the next one is in front of you, so a little rushed to be honest.. Went through to the bar where entertainment was on and very good! After a disturbed sleep breakfast was lovely but again very rushed! Would stay at this hotel again if we could have a room away from the Main Street for a better nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diannejordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    243
    100
    36
    21
See reviews for
82
434
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed in the cottage suite from 21st to 24th February along with our family cockapoo. We normally stay in the hotel but found the suite to be very relaxing and comfortable and better for our dog. As usual the staff were very friendly and professional and couldn't do enough for us. Well done to Neels and staff for yet another great stay. We will continue to return.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tilll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, South Wales. U.K.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Light sandwich lunch with a glass if wine, excellent value, sandwich full to bursting with prawns, crisps and side salad, house wine gorgeous, sat in conservatory watching the world go by, would recommend, the staff were lovely and total cost with a few drinks and coffee £21 very reasonable for an excellent lunch

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lady-Frazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have stopped at this hotel many times including twice over Christmas, apart from one poor room with no view, we have always had a great stay here. The staff are always spot on, help full and attentive. The rooms are comfortable and clean with good services. We had room 62 this time and would certainly recommend this room - hope to get it next time we visit. Have the evening meal at least once, the food is of a very high standard and very well served, wine not too bad considering you are in a restaurant. Breakfast, brill with a lovely mixture including poached haddock, my wife's fav. Look out for the special offer week ends on there web site.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, not a roof top. be warned, Saturday market sets up early, you may hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hello_Tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We needed a couple of days away after the sudden death of our much-loved dog and booked this from a 'Secret Escapes' deal on a bit of a whim. You don't go to the Lakes in February for good weather and, indeed, it was wet and wild, but the hotel - which is smack in the main square in Keswick - looked after us very well indeed.

The deal was for two nights' bed, breakfast and evening dinner, with tea and scones (with generous jam and proper clotted cream) and - allegedly - a bottle of wine on departure. I forgot to ask about this when we checked out and so we didn't get it! A minor complaint, however.

We booked a 'classic' room. It was quiet, though up quite a few stairs, so people should take care to ask about this if stairs are an issue for them. It's an old-fashioned sort of hotel, with meandering corridors along which you really felt you needed to lay a trail in order to find your way back again. The room was a decent size and though not modern in styling, was very clean and comfortable - and the newly refurbished bathroom was gorgeous and supplied with our favourite Gilchrist and Soames toiletries. Complimentary bottled mineral water was supplied in the room, along with the usual tea and coffee facilities and two packets of good biscuits.

The hotel has a nice, cosy bar with coal fire and a cafe which has windows on to the square and this is where we took our excellent tea and scones (the latter were freshly made, large and fruity). We enjoyed watching the world go by and as Keswick is dog town, I had to be restrained from nipping out and mugging various passers-by for their lovely dogs.

Dinner, which was a different table d'hote menu each night, was really good. It turned out not to be the 3 courses mentioned but 4 plus coffee/tea with mints! Portions were generous, well-cooked and came with a separate bowl of vegetables for the table. Their wine list is decent and very reasonably-priced and we had good bottles each night. Staff are friendly, obliging and personable.

Breakfast was a fruit and cereal buffet and then your choice of cooked items done to order. This was my only disappointment - I don't really do the cooked protein thing at breakfast and like a big choice of 'continental' comestibles, but there was fruit and cereals and they brought as much toast as you required as well as a good pot of tea (or coffee). Cooked breakfasts, however, looked fabulous for those who like that sort of thing and the full Cumbrian breakfast looked like it would set you up for a week.

We had a great stay and would definitely go there again. I should add that parking is in the large pay-and-display directly behind the hotel, but if you nip in as soon as you arrive they will give you a laminated, free 'pass' for your whole visit.

Room Tip: Some rooms involve a lot of stairs - ask about this if it matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenFNafplio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Skiddaw Hotel on 7th to 10th February 2014, and the break was a relaxing break to help me recover after some surgery - so we were looking for a relaxing break in the centre of Keswick.
Let me first say that having stayed at two other Lakeland hotels (the Lodore falls, Keswick and the George in Penrith, this hotel provides the high standard I would expect from this hotel group.
The room was spotless, lovely toiletries, bottled water and both breakfast and dinner were faultless. The staff were cheery and helpful, and when I booked and explained we were looking for a quite and relaxing break, the staff could not be more helpful. The décor in the hotel is charming and in keeping with the lake district. The only problem we had was that on the Saturday evening, we had been told that there was a function on, and that there would be a little noise from it which would stop at 12.30. We have stayed at many hotels which hold functions and have never found the noise that intrusive so we did not expect to have any problem. However, when the disco started at 9pm and continued to 12 midnight, what we should have been told was that we would be able to join the party without leaving our room. In fact, we could hear the music so clearly that my husband gave up trying to watch tv and started to sing along to the Proclaimers!! Whilst the choice of music wasn't the problem, we did find it very very intrusive, and when I complained to reception, she did say that the manager would ask the DJ to turn the music down (which I don't think happened as the noise level didn't change). I did advise the reception staff the next day that I would have preferred to have been told up front that the music would be very loud in our room at which point I would have been able to ask for a room change. I would still go back to the Skiddaw Hotel as I did not have the chance to sample the much praised afternoon tea, but I would make sure that the room wasn't near the function room (our room was no. 61 right above the function room apparently). Overall the weekend wasn't spoiled, but it did spoil that particular evening.

Room Tip: Check your room is not above the function room, and if they are, check that there is not a function...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sneephoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Nice hotel in the centre of town. The hotel does nice lunch meals and at night time it is nice just to sit in the bar area and watch the world go by. The town is great at night too. Great for old ales with a lot of walkers staying at the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Property: The Skiddaw Hotel
Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing