We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at The Skiddaw Hotel for 3 nights mon to thurs.
I had no problems finding the hotel / central car park, I simply put the postcode off the hotels website for central car park into my sat nav and it directed me straight into central car park, from where the hotel is obvious, you are given a pass for the car park, although you do pay a deposit for this pass & it is secured against your credit card should you loose it, this is fair enough as obviously the hotel has to buy these passes.
We found the hotel to be excellent, we had a family room No. 3/4 which is actually two rooms separated by an entrance hall which also has a bathroom off it, the quality of the rooms were very good and this suite is a great choice for families. The bathroom was of a very high standard, large with top quality fittings, including a large bath with shower over.
Despite being central in Keswick we had no noise issues, the room was tripple glazed, we woke up on the Thursday to find a market set up outside in the main street, which our room overlooked, and we hadn't heard anything.
We had booked B&B, the breakfasts were excellent, good choice of fruit juices, cereals, fruits etc. the cooked options were cooked fresh to order and were very good (great sausages) also everything was nice and hot.
We had dinner in the hotel 2 nights choosing from there dinner menu, which changed each day, the menu was displayed in reception from early morning each day, the choices were good, quality of food and services excellent, there was a separate children's menu, which again had a good selection. All the food we had was great, served with a selection of vegetables, which was a different selection both nights, food was all served piping hot.
Overall I would say the Skiddaw is a great choice of hotel, nicely located in the centre of Keswick I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 3/4 is a good room for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 811 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

A group of us stayed at the Skiddaw after a days walking in the lakes. We enjoyed great food and had a fantastic laugh especially in the residents lounge after closing time. I can only apologise to our fellow guests who were probably kept awake by our giggling and carrying on.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Ask if possible for a large room. Ours was quite small and a little stuffy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scotlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Great room and great service. Got a free upgrade to a prestige room, room 51. WE had a 4 course meal in the hotel restaurantthe which we could not fault. Live band in the bar area which was fab although i think the whole of keswick turned up so could not sit down. We the went to bar 26 up the road which i would also recommend
Loved our stay and deseree the receptionist could not have been any more helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca87667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our third stay at The Skiddaw- always a treat after many years of camping and self catering in the Lakes! We stayed on a special offer 3 night DBB break and we were really impressed with our three excellent dinners. Every dish we had was perfectly cooked and very well presented.
Breakfast was excellent too - and nice to be served at the table.
Everything about the hotel charming as usual - great location,friendly staff,lovely room.Room 37 has a very nice view from the bath! We are already looking forward to our next visit to The Skiddaw.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaidenheadRealistic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed one night in the hotel and had bed and breakfast. The hotel was very comfortable. We had a deluxe room which had a wonderful 4 poster bed. I found the staff to be extremely helpful. This was especially true on the morning we left. My husband was unwell and we had a high level of kindness and support from individual members of staff.

We didn't have a meal at the hotel but had a drink and a lunchtime snack in the conservatory. This was good and served in an efficient and friendly way.

The hotel is well situated in the Main Street. A market was set up right outside the hotel in the early hours of the morning. Although we faced the main road we didn't experience any disturbance but we were midweek. These rooms might be noisier at the weekend.

The hotel advertises some 'dog friendly' rooms!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank izzydundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Arrived at The Skiddaw for a weekends cycling with friends in the Whinlatter forest.Nothing was too much trouble for the excellent and friendly staff.
The location was superb for visiting all the nice pubs in Keswick and the breakfast was fantastic.
We will return for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Teej 7

I am glad you and your friends had such an enjoyable cycling weekend among the many trails through Whinlatter. I am obviously also happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Skiddaw.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights on their 2 Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal PLUS free Day Bed Breakfast deal. This is the option we took from THEIR own website. First evening meal was really excellent and high quality throughout. A substantial 4 course meal. not the minimalist type! Second meal was very good without being quite of the same standard. Good quality public rooms. Welcoming friendly team at the Skiddaw. Nice lounge on the First floor. Good public areas, front lounge, bar etc. Big function room at the rear. Car parking is free and behind the hotel : get the FREE Council car park display card from the HOTEL reception. Ideal location in the centre of Keswick in pedestrianised Main Street. One of the very best walking centres in the Lakes. The Theatre on the Lake and the lake itself are 10 minutes walk away. Walks and mountains in all directions. Very helpful Information Centre 2 minutes away, giving details of what to see, planned walks etc. ( Keswick may be the only town in the UK except for London , where you can sometimes see 6 different plays in the one week) . We have stayed here many times, sometimes as a couple and sometimes in a large group of about 50/ 60 people, when our choir sings in Keswick and we will no doubt return to the Skiddaw

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Charles C

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences after your recent stay with us. I am very glad that you had such an enjoyable stay. I have also enjoyed the excellent productions at Theatre by the Lake this season and am amazed at the cast playing such different characters every night. I hope we will see you here again soon.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 22 in Keswick
709 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#18 of 22 in Keswick
491 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,218 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: $137 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing