We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good hotel, great location”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at the Skiddaw hotel for 3 nights in August with the secret escapes deal and really enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and very yellow! The bed was very large and the room was clean with good tea and coffee facilities. Our room was at the back of the hotel so we had minimal noise and had some good views. The hotel was in an excellent central location and we were able to not take the car anywhere the whole stay. The meal choices were good each night and varied although on the first night we did have to wait around 45 minutes for our starter to be delivered whilst other guests who came in after us were being served. Breakfast was excellent, was nice to be served rather than buffet style. My main points of improvement for the hotel would be for the TV to be moved slightly more central in the room to make it easier to watch in bed and for a fan to be in the room. Felt that whilst staff were pleasant, more effort could have been made to chat to the guests during their stay, would have changed a good hotel into an excellent hotel. Having said that I would defiantly come back and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Katrino91

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us at the Skiddaw Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you back here soon.

There are many good things about the Skiddaw Hotel (in my humble and biased opinion) and chief amongst them are the lovely, friendly staff whom I get work with. I am therefore a bit disappointed that our staff didn't chat to you a bit more, because they do like to chat! I can only assume that it was a particularly busy weekend when you stayed with us. You mentioned that you will definetley return and we look forward to it.

Kind regards

Neels Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    253
    105
    39
    23
See reviews for
89
459
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on a secret escape and could not have been happier! The location is superb- wonder around Keswick easily but also less than a mile and your at Derwent water and the beautiful park. It was ideal for exploring the lakes from. Having just arrived at the George in Penrith we want to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Once again I have stayed in The Skiddow Hotel and it does not disappoint. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable albeit a little on the small side. The breakfast in the morning was good and the staff very friendly and helpful. The location is in the centre of Keswick, near shops, restuarants and on Saturday there is a market.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mr/s Carto

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us again and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We paid a total of £101 for the ‘privilege’, however, during the night, the noise outside was astonishing, even though all windows were shut tight and even spare cushions were placed on there to try and muffle the noise.

There is nothing on the website to say that any noise outside comes inside due to the lack of decent soundproofing. We are not stupid, and expect a little sound to come in, but this was clear and no warning was given.

When we complained about it at the reception at checkout time, the lady looked at us and said ‘its on the main street...’ Very good. Like I said, we aren't moronic (unlike the comment). There was no interest in what we said and eventually there was a fob off saying they are looking to seal some of the windows. Which is of no use to us.

Also, during the night, some moronic person was shouting at his kids outside our corridor. Apparently the night porter came up as well, so they’ll know about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davindersangha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Sir

I note with interest that you have posted your "review". As we have already corresponded I cannot add much more to respond, other than to say that we look to treat any incident at The Skiddaw Hotel, or outside the hotel, in a fair and, usually, mutually agreeable manner. When a demand is made to return money or else a very bad review is posted, we will still continue to deal with the matter in the same even handed way. If we didn't the relevance of this site will be lost as it will be a place for threats to be carried out not advice to passed on fairly.

Our receptionist didn't make moronic comments when she responded to you stating that our website doesn't say there will be noise. Our website does state that we are in the centre of the bustling market town of Keswick, which is a major reason many people choose to stay. Our rooms are all double glazed and any internal distubance is dealt with ASAP.


Kind regards,

Neels Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham england
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Booked two nights via secret escapes which included evening meals. The room was small and hot and noisy on the Saturday night. There is a sports bar down the alleyway next to the hotel that stays open until about 3am. Avoid rooms near the alleyway. Service and food very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaymaker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The family room was adequate for our overnight stay. The staff were largely polite and attentive but we expected more from this hotel. The area was lovely with lots of quaint shops to browse and the views from the nearby touristy spot were breathtaking. On the whole, we felt the hotel was ok, but there's not really much more I can add to that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Angela,

Many thanks for your recent review following a stay at the Skiddaw Hotel.

I'm sorry that you found the hotel didn't reach your expectations but it is a shame that you could not be more specific and clarify what your expectations were. It would also have been interesting to know what led you to get higher expectations. If indeed it was our website which you felt misleading then we could look at changing that, although our marketing team use a wide variety of photos of the hotel and give very honest descriptions about what you can expect when you get to this 3 star town centre hotel.

I hope you find what you are looking for in your next visit to the Lakes and perhaps you would like to try one of our 4 star hotels as an alternative venue.

Kind regards,

Dani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I booked with some reservations being 3 star, but was more than happy with all aspects, and it was certainly better than a lot of hotels with higher ratings. Food very good, served on hot plates which is very rare these days. Really enjoyed our stay and would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back,and did'nt have any view but was very quiet with no disturbace at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter1961S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Peter 1961S

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. As stated in a previous comment we certainly like to serve hot food on hot plates, as it should be. I hope you enjoyed your break in the Lakes and hope to see you again before too long.

Kind regards

Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
626 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
463 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,100 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Property: The Skiddaw Hotel
Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing