We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a memorable experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grange Country House
Ranked #18 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a memorable experience...”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

The guest house is situated in a nice location, not too far from the town centre but not too isolated either. The rooms were spotless and we were upgraded at no extra charge due to it being quiet that day. The staff were very friendly and we were even offered the dining lounge in order to eat our take away. The rooms blend modern with traditional well, and the view from our room was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHG85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    51
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
327
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We came to the UK for my wife's 50th birthday, and despite beginning to obsessively plan as early as march for our late October trip, our friends at the Grange were relentlessly helpful in working out every detail (from our glorious room to hidden gems of restaurants atop the fells/mountains in nearby towns) for us in the months leading up. And the welcome and service continued to be impeccable once we arrived, from the staff that greeted us, the wonderful conservatory (and the amazing food) for breakfast....and again, a truly quiet and beautiful gem (as others have noted) up above the town of Keswick. I've visited Keswick before (my wife has not) and I can not think of a better place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenDeanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Although the weather was not at its best, we still had a great 3-day stay at the Grange. This is our first time staying here and it will probably not be the last. The B+B/hotel is marked as a5-stars and for a B+B it does come close to that. The breakfast were excellent and the rooms roomy, warm (possibly too warm) and very clean. The bed (most important) was very comfortable but also firm. The staff were all cheerful, especially the girl from APAC.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rykingManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

A superior B&B tucked away in a quiet part of Keswick. It’s quite cosy but without being too intimate. Our room (No 6) was a decent size with a very comfy bed. The bathroom was clean and spacious with plenty of hot water for a soak in the tub after a day on the fells. It feels like a well run establishment an impression confirmed by the enthusiastic and highly competent staff. A good yardstick for us is how well they cope at breakfast with our somewhat complicated order (some might say fussy). Perfectly, it turns out, on both occasions. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We have stayed in the Grange on a number of occasions over the last few years and it is wonderful. The rooms are beautifully decorated, most importantly, warm and comfortable. We have slept in a few different ones, but I loved the bath in Room 2, especially after a long walk. This time Mark and Sally weren't around, but their deputies did such a brilliant job we wouldn't have known. The breakfasts are great and I love the fresh fruit as well as the eggs benedict! My husband enjoys his full Cumbrian! We were sorry it was only two nights this year, but we will be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetteLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff were extremely helpful, the food was perfectly fine and within walking distance to downtown Keswick. The walk up the hill at the end of the day was tiring, but a 5 minute taxi drive solved that problem! The only complaint about most B&Bs in the Uk is that no-one supplies face cloths so I had to buy my own, but if thats the only problem then its nothing. I would thorough recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangemanager, Owner at The Grange Country House, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Thank you for this review - I would like to advise that we do supply two quality facecloths in all rooms. They are in the nice ceramic tray on the dressing table. Perhaps the selection of lovely, complementary 'Gilcrist and Soames' toiletries were hiding them!
For future guests - if you have any special requests at all, please dont hesitate to ask one of us - someone is always available to help between 7.30am to 10.00pm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Quality accommodation. The Grange surpassed all our expectations. The rooms were immaculate and had every possible comfort. The owners were welcoming and friendly without being obtrusive and the staff were efficient and helpful. The breakfasts were outstanding! We have stayed at many hotels and B & B's throughout the lake district but rarely come across one of this exceptional standard. We will definitely be back.
The Shellards

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
625 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,102 reviews
17.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Country House

Property: The Grange Country House
Address: Ambleside Rd | Manor Brow, Keswick CA12 4BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grange Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian home in lovely setting overlooking the fells. Excellent breakfast with lots of choices - fresh fruit salads,local bacon and Cumberland sausage. Plenty of safe, off-street parking. Lovely decor, great quality extras in all the rooms. Super en-suite facilities with either Mira electric showers or a bath with shower cradle. FREE WIFI. Interesting local artwork to peruse, Stylish bedrooms with good outlooks over fells or gardens supplied with quality linens and accessories. Flat screen televisions and free Wifi in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grange Country House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing