We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 5 Star?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grange Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grange Country House
Ranked #16 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not 5 Star?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Just returned from latest of many stays at The Grange. As has been pointed out there were no robes - not a problem - don't wear them - no slippers? - take my own. No chocolate? Oh come on. (Well actually, we got some) Sally, Mark and the girls - Ania and Rika just brilliant but nothing new there. Simply the best guest house we have stayed in in this country. 5 Stars? Certainly.

Room Tip: If you really want to spoil yourself, ask for Room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireChrisE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    49
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
310
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mrsc123
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely surprise break here in February. The room was wonderfully appointed, luxurious but homely with the most spectacular duel aspect view. It was a birthday treat and the owners had very kindly put a card, flowers and homemade chocolates in the room!

Read another review that said the tv was too small, if you go on holiday to watch the tv, don't go to the lakes! The owner and all other staff were super friendly but not 'in your face'.

Had a great nights sleep and a faultless breakfast in the beautiful conservatory in the morning (extra marks for the marmalade).

Thanks for a great stay, very happy to recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrsc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

What a great place this was to stay.. We stayed for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday and we felt welcome and looked after from the moment we arrived.. Shown around the property and to our room and we were taken back at how gorgeous the room was. Very spacious, huge bed, lovely bathroom with bath, complimentary toiletries, cute little window looking over the hills. Tea and coffee facilities with great range of teas and coffee with biscuits too-lovely. Great nights sleep. This room was fantastic could not of wanted more.. No noise from other rooms or outside..
Breakfast was fantastic too, great choice. I had a full cumbrian and eggs Benedict both were cooked beautifully and really quickly considering there were sometimes 15-20 people down for breakfast at the same time.. Lovely touch that they remember what juice you like and have it ready for you on your table and remember whether you have tea or coffee white or brown toast ect. Very personal.
It is up a hill from the town centre, i would advise walk down to centre it takes 10 minutes and get a taxi back up it costs £3.
Overall this place is wonderful. We stayed in room 7 on the top floor and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cant wait to go back.. Ive noticed some people aren keen on thai room but i found it gorgeous with its modern bathroom with skylight for extra light and fantastically decorated bedroom with huge bed and original beams of the country house, the beams r sloped an go lower on the side near the window but just duck down was never an issue for us..
Cant wait to go back.
Thanks

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ita2dfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We found the Grange by using Trip Advisor-a good start to a lovely break.
Although we have not visited Keswick before, the hotel & surrounding area are both worthy a visit.
The hotel itself is very cosy, with a high standard of fixtures, fittings & breakfasts.
There is currently an exhibition of local arts & crafts in the front room of the hotel too.
The hotel is within walking distance of Keswick centre & Derwent water. It is a rather steep hill on the way back-Davies taxis with very courteous drivers costs £3 (hotel to Keswick centre & return each way!)

While we were there, we had evening meals at Casa Bella (twice) & Morrell's (fine dining, Jon's birthday).
There are plenty of good pubs too (mainly Thwaites & Jennings beers).

We also went for a great walk around part of the lake & spent a good 2 hours in the Puzzling Place. The only thing that we didn't get round to was to visit the Pencil Museum (activities & restaurants also found via both Trip Advisor when planning & information at the Grange).

So thank you to Mark, Sally, staff & the animals for contributing towards a birthday & anniversary break.

PS-on the way up we made a pit stop @ Bojangles cafe, Appleby (v good too!)

Room Tip: The location of the hotel means that all rooms have a good view-Keswick/Lake or the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Grange which on it's own is a fantastic property, with it's many nooks and crannies i.e. intriguing doors. But when you add to the mix Mark and Sally who are a warm and friendly couple, the beautiful rooms, the fab selection for breakfast and the endless cake and coffee in the foyer. What more could you ask for, except another stay here in the future. Top marks, fantastic job.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I booked a stay at the Grange in celebration of my husband's 60th Birthday and as an opportunity to spend some quality time with my elderly parents, who have warm and fond memories of the Lake District.

The quality and presentation of the rooms was second to none. The breakfast provided was brilliant and the owner's could not have been more hospitable.

I would certainly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to any member of family, friends or general public looking for a homely place to stay away from home.

Julie Tarantino

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for five nights recently and thought what a lovely house it was inside and out, room 1 was very spacious and comfortable with a separate lounge area, and the breakfasts were excellant with a good choice., and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The views were amazing and plenty of seats on the terrace to sit and enjoy them with a drink. Would definitely recommend The Grange to anyone.

Room Tip: Try room 1 on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Country House

Property: The Grange Country House
Address: Ambleside Rd | Manor Brow, Keswick CA12 4BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian home in lovely setting overlooking the fells. Excellent breakfast with lots of choices - fresh fruit salads,local bacon and Cumberland sausage. Plenty of safe, off-street parking. Lovely decor, great quality extras in all the rooms. Super en-suite facilities with either Mira electric showers or a bath with shower cradle. FREE WIFI. Interesting local artwork to peruse, Stylish bedrooms with good outlooks over fells or gardens supplied with quality linens and accessories. Flat screen televisions and free Wifi in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SpeedyBooker.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Grange Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange Country House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing