We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grange Country House
Ranked #17 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rare weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

With weekends away without children being so rare it is vital they are not wasted... And we weren't disappointed! Had a fantastic stay. . Room perfect with marvellous view. . And breakfast was perfect way to start our day. Easy walk into town centre and lake. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room at the front on first floor.. Wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    49
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
314
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

On top floor in converted attic ok for one night stay as ceiling was slanted so we could not stand up on one side of room,. deccor very nice. bed very comfy. bathroom VERY cold.Breakfast eggs Benadict , eggs over cooked did not have the wow factor.Coffee and flap jack on arrivel a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangemanager, Owner at The Grange Country House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Oh dear, sadly we appear not to have hit the mark with our breakfast on this occasion. We are very sorry about this, but please, please do say if something is not right. We are a friendly bunch and it really doesn't take a minute to cook new eggs if we have mistimed their delivery. We don't mind at all.
Room 9 is a very pretty room with super views over the fells and a nice big bathroom, but it does have a sloped ceiling and low beams on one side. Please do have a look at the photos of the rooms on our website, before choosing your room as they are all unique and some have unusual characteristics due the the age of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reeth, North Yorkshirel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

On our arrival to The Grange we were given a warm welcome along with a guided tour round the hotel and to our room. The room itself, number 4, couldn't have been cleaner and we both had an excellent nights sleep. The following morning after a nice hot shower we had a delicious breakfast which you couldn't fault. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.
We look forward to our next stay at the Grange.
Percy and Jacqui Longstaff, Reeth, North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here before and again have been really pleasantly surprised by the ambience, the staff, and the presentation of the room.

The breakfast are superb - not the normal greasy fry up!!

Great value for money, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phildibbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fantastic breakfast and standard o accommodation. Cannot fault the place- will def go back. Steep hill on walk from town which we enjoyed walking but not for the less agile. Lovely cakes and coffee throughout day

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Grange on Saturday & Sunday 19th & 29 Oct 2013, and from the outset we were very impressed by the place. On arrival at about 3pm we were greeted by Mark who was very friendly and explained the things necessary to make our stay easier.. We were shown to our room, No5 which was a large very comfortable corner room with two windows looking at different views of the hills and over Keswick. After settling in we went down to the foyer and took advantage of the super coffee machine and home made cake while we checked out the maps in the lounge for our walk the next day. On Sunday we braved the showers and walked half way round Derwent Water, then a look around the market, a drink in the George to celebrate my wife's birthday then back to the Grange. When we went to our room my wife was delighted to see a lovely bouquet of red roses on the dressing table, the staff had seen her birthday cards and been out to the shops to buy the flowers, We were really pleased with this kind thought. As for the stay. The breakfasts were great we had a full English the first day and eggs benedict the next, both were delicious. Overall a great place to stay and we will definitely be returning
Dave & Jackie

Room Tip: Roms 1, 5 & 3 are good, didn't see into any others. Best views from room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here and it was just great in every detail the rooms were very very clean and very cosy the staff at breakfast were amazing so friendly and the breakfast was really good the couple who own the hotel were very nice and friendly and we would recommend this place most certainly it is above the rest as the five star rating would indicate.
If we past Cumbria again we would stay at the grange again thank you for a pleasant stay
Tony london

Room Tip: All the rooms were very good so it's up to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familykaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#13 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#9 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Country House

Property: The Grange Country House
Address: Ambleside Rd | Manor Brow, Keswick CA12 4BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian home in lovely setting overlooking the fells. Excellent breakfast with lots of choices - fresh fruit salads,local bacon and Cumberland sausage. Plenty of safe, off-street parking. Lovely decor, great quality extras in all the rooms. Super en-suite facilities with either Mira electric showers or a bath with shower cradle. FREE WIFI. Interesting local artwork to peruse, Stylish bedrooms with good outlooks over fells or gardens supplied with quality linens and accessories. Flat screen televisions and free Wifi in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Grange Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange Country House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing