We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grange Country House
Ranked #18 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Top B & B”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in June, and found the facilities excellent, the breakfasts were even better, and best of all was the service from the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We shall definitely stay there again if we visit the Lake District again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodoldfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    50
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
324
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have had a very mixed bag of accommodation during our 3 week driving trip in England, and I was getting a bit frayed around the edges I must admit until we landed at The Grange Country House. This is a lovely hotel in a lovely setting. Tastefully decorated, light, fresh, comfortable bed, smart modern compact bathroom. Everything worked, everything was provided, no attention to detail missed. Lovely breakfast room, great breakfasts, plenty of places to sit and read the paper if your not rushing of to go walking or cycling. Hallelujah, thanks Mark and Sally, saved from the grips of overpriced "dads army" type accommodation .
Most happily recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

At almost £100 per room per night, this is way more that I would usually pay for a b&b, but it seems that it's hard to find much cheaper during summer in the lake district.

Lovely B&B, helpful friendly staff, excellent breakfast...... not many B&Bs have eggs benedict on the breakfast menu. Also fresh fruit salad & lovely cereals.

Room was nice, although shower was attached to the bath taps meaning you had to sit to have your shower - not a big issue.

They have a liscence so it was great to be able to sit in the lounge enjoying a glass of wine before we went out for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebiscuitboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights at the end of April 2013. The room was large , clean , with a great breakfast , extremely helpful staff . Very friendly atmosphere , Will gladly recommend this place .
The location is good , although located in the north of the Lake district it is easily possible to be based in Keswick and to visit anywhere in the area .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimonaa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had a two night stay recently at The Grange and from the moment I parked my car I fell in love with it. Mark,Sally and staff were very welcoming. My room was spotless and very tastefully decorated. Breakfast was excellent. Every taste catered for. The Eggs Benedict were especially tasty. The short walk into Keswick burned off any extra calories that were self inflicted! On my return to the hotel I could not resist a lovely glass of red wine sat out on the terrace enjoying the wonderful scenery. I will be back,ASAP !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancejil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I stopped at The Grange recently for a short holiday in the Lake District and both thought that it was an excellent choice. From the moment that we arrived we were made to feel right at home. Our room was really comfortable with wonderful views over Keswick to the fells in the distance. Breakfast was a great experience with friendly staff and appetising food, well prepared and served. The owners, Sally and Mark, could not have been more helpful and welcoming. There is no doubt that we will be returning to The Grange in the future and have already recommended it to several of our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln_UKTonyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed at the Grange 11 - 15th May this year, 4 nights. Wish it could have been longer but our travel plans were already made. We were greeted like old friends returning, quickly shown the facilities and to our room (3) that has stunning views across to Cat Bells and associated scenery. Our room was ;large, comfortable with a great bed that provided an excellent nights sleep. Loved the biscuits provided in the room. Breakfast was also lovely with fresh local produce, presented in first class manner and the girls Rica & Ania remembering your drink preference after the first day. The position of the breakfast room is such that the bird feeders are located such that the myriad of feather friends dine at the same time as ourselves providing a great spectacle of entertainment. The position of the house is excellent with super views across Keswick and obviously the surrounding area although a short downhill walk to the town centre. For those less able the return journey by taxi was £2.90, yes £2.90. Sally & Mark, together with Rica & Ania provided us with a n excellent stay which we would recommend as well as intending to return ourselves.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the house so that you obtain the wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfredB695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
609 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,073 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Country House

Property: The Grange Country House
Address: Ambleside Rd | Manor Brow, Keswick CA12 4BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian home in lovely setting overlooking the fells. Excellent breakfast with lots of choices - fresh fruit salads,local bacon and Cumberland sausage. Plenty of safe, off-street parking. Lovely decor, great quality extras in all the rooms. Super en-suite facilities with either Mira electric showers or a bath with shower cradle. FREE WIFI. Interesting local artwork to peruse, Stylish bedrooms with good outlooks over fells or gardens supplied with quality linens and accessories. Flat screen televisions and free Wifi in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Grange Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange Country House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing