We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a perfect location for walks, travelling and town centre, with lovely people and great service to boot!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grange Country House
Ranked #19 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a lovely weekend over Easter. The room was cosy and very nicely decorated. Cleaning service was excellent and view from the window was pretty amazing. Breakfast was fab and is very much missed! Best eggs Benedict ever. All in all a near faultless stay. The only thing that was a bit annoying was the wifi as we couldn't get connected, however we didn't really care. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fondai77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 431 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

The warm and friendly welcome set the tone for our stay. The house is very comfortable with lovely views across Keswick to the fells. We were in the Lakes for a few days and stayed in Keswick for two nights. The Grange is ideally situated as it is a short walk form the centre and is therefore very peaceful, but it is close enough not to need to use the car in the evening.

Breakfasts were excellent and made especially enjoyable by the wonderfully friendly Japanese lady who looked after us. The home made cakes waiting for us on our return from the hills were a lovely treat.

Mark, Sally and Anna, who run the Grange, could not be more helpful, and the rooms are very well appointed with nice touches such as the complimentary spring water and chocolates!

All in all very good value.

Kevin and Linda

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyclingourway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We returned to The Grange for our 1st wedding anniversary on 22nd March, we stayed in Room 5 again as we had done on our honeymoon last year. The weather was freezing and loads of snow but the hotel as always was warm and welcoming. The heating was on in the room and it was very cozy.

The staff are brilliant and very friendly. The breakfasts are great and set you up for walking.

We knew Mark and Sally we meeting family on the Sunday and we had been off for a very long walk, when we returned we were sitting outside taking off our muddy boots, Mark had been driving past and seen us, he stopped to see if we were ok which I thought was lovely of him. They really care about their guests.

So well done guys, yet again we have had a brilliant stay. The rooms are lovely, the food is great, the homemade cake is lush, I like that we could get milk at anytime, in fact there is nothing too much trouble for this couple and the guys that work there.

Thanks for a lovely weekend, despite the freezing weather.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Would highly recommend this b & b as we found it extremely comfortable, spotless, friendly and efficient. The location was superb and as we didn't use the car at all whilst we were there, it was also a good place to stay for the exercise. (Due to the steep brow walk back from the town.) We totally agree with all the good reviews and the last one which was the only downside. The bathroom in our bedroom (no 6) was not adequately heated, i.e. no heated towel rail and a very small and old fan heater on the wall. As this was a big bathroom it made for a very quick exit, after the showers. Other than that we would say it is one of the best places we have stayed. p.s. breakfast was really good as well.

Room Tip: Think all the rooms have very high standards and are spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangemanager, Owner at The Grange Country House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thanks for this review - so sorry the bathroom was chilly - I think we were caught out by this major cold snap! We will make sure we get a permanent heater in the room to replace the electric one. Thanks for bringing it to our attention - hope to see you again in the future. Sun's out now so its gorgeous for Easter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Truly, a LOVELY stay ... totally agree with the other reviews on breakfast and how lovely and cosy the rooms were.
The only things I would add, would be that our room was immaculately clean, when we arrived, and was cleaned to the same standard everyday.
All the staff, including the hosts Sally and Mark, were extremely knowledgeable, gracious and kind. Nothing felt like a problem, and everything came across as very smooth.
It's often the little details that let a place down, but at The Grange they're all taken care of, so you don't notice a thing! Truly, excellent, I was very impressed!

Room Tip: Excellent standard, with B&B friendly & cosyness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anglo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangemanager, Owner at The Grange Country House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to add your review - we are so happy that you enjoyed it here. We put a lot of thought in to what is important for people so its always nice to hear that it is appreciated and we are getting it right! See you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent an enjoyable couple of days at The Grange in March 2013.

Our room (11) was very comfortable, clean and well presented, though the bathroom could have done with a proper radiator, rather than just a heated towel rail and a fan heater on the wall. Perhaps we were unfortunate, as the two days we spent in Keswick were among the coldest we can remember in the Lakes (certainly for March), and a warm bathroom under such circumstances is a must.

Nevertheless, the bedroom was quite cosy, and there is no denying the warmth of the reception from our hosts. There was homemade cake in the lobby each afternoon which was a nice touch, and a separate room showing contemporary works of art.

The real star for us though was the breakfast each morning. We each had a delicious full English one morning and eggs Benedict and smoked salmon and eggs respectively the next, all freshly cooked to order. There were cereals and fresh fruit with juices etc to start of course, but also porridge with banana and brown sugar too, which was great, and the service was prompt and friendly.

Perhaps we'd try one of the other rooms next time, maybe in summertime, as it would be lovely to sit on the terrace out front as the sun went down. We would certainly recommend The Grange, and would definitely return – it would be worth it for the breakfast alone!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This lovely B&B made our work trip feel like a holiday! We had a lot of kit in the car so it was nice to be able to park easily right outside. The house is elegant in style and decor. Our attic room was spacious, warm and cosy and the bed really comfortable. I liked having real milk for the tea in our room, and homemade cake too. Breakfast was excellent with mountains of fresh fruit and delicious eggs benedict, whilst enjoying the beautiful view of snow-clad fells.
We had a '3 nights for the price of 2' offer which was excellent value and would definitely stay again. Could walk down to the shores of Derwent Water in 15 mins.

Room Tip: Our attic room had plenty of space and felt quiet and private. Bathroom had bath and shower. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JananB7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
653 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#16 of 17 in Keswick
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Beeches Guest House
The Beeches Guest House
#36 of 189 in Keswick
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oakthwaite House
Oakthwaite House
#61 of 189 in Keswick
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Country House

Address: Ambleside Rd | Manor Brow, Keswick CA12 4BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $153 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian home in lovely setting overlooking the fells. Excellent breakfast with lots of choices - fresh fruit salads,local bacon and Cumberland sausage. Plenty of safe, off-street parking. Lovely decor, great quality extras in all the rooms. Super en-suite facilities with either Mira electric showers or a bath with shower cradle. FREE WIFI. Interesting local artwork to peruse, Stylish bedrooms with good outlooks over fells or gardens supplied with quality linens and accessories. Flat screen televisions and free Wifi in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grange Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange Country House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing