We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grange Country House
Ranked #18 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were met by Mark who was very welcoming. He told us about the area and recommended restaurants, all of which were great. He even found us a vase for some flowers we had from a wedding. The location is ideal, omly a 10minute walk to the town centre and you can start lots of walks from the B&B.

We stayed in Room 1 which was on the ground floor. Lovely and spacious with a very comfortable bed. Bathroom was very nicely finished with a lovely shower. We particularly enjoyed having the sofa to come back to in the evening as we were there during the olympics.

The breakfast was fantastic. A great choice and the service was wonderful, nothing was too much trouble.

Little touches including freshly baked cakes and fresh milk made our stay even better. We are recommending The Grange to everyone we can and hope we will be able to come back one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    50
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
324
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Widen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Grange is a fine quality B&B in a Victorian style house, it is indeed a comfortable place to be in Keswick (Lake District). The hotel ground is simple but lovely every where you look.

We have a good size room with view of the garden and beyond, the bed is very comfortable with good quality bedding soft against the skin. In the morning, we like to sit in the garden sipping tea(me) and coffee(my husband) surround by beautiful flowers all around us. You can have a wonderful walk to historic town and villages. Tour the lakes around this area is a must or you'll be missing out some beautiful views.

We love the casual, yet very genuine feeling we received from the stuffs during our entire stay,which made us feel we "Belong" in this wonderful house !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were bowled over by the accommodation at The Grange Country House. The welcome was friendly and informal, the room and en-suite were luxurious, spacious and clean and the breakfasts were among the best we've ever had at a guest house. Thank you, we will definitely be staying again! Richard & Sian

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were met by Mark who helped us with our bags to our room. We stayed in room 9, one of the smaller rooms but it was lovely. Bathroom was huge with a lovely shower. The view from the room was amazing. Bed was comfy and fresh bedding was provided each day. Room was spotless. Mark and Sally provided fresh milk, home made chocolates and home made cakes as an additional touch. Location was perfect. A short walk to the busy town meant that it was quiet at night. Mark provided us with lots of information about what was going on in the town which ensured our stay was great. Will definitely be returing for another stay and many more.

Room Tip: Room 9 was the only room available when we booked and apparently one of the smallest. We were pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pansans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have to say that this was one of my best ever stays - from the second we arrived we were made to feel so welcome by all the staff - in particular Mark who really helped with knowledge on where to eat & drink and places to go walking.

We stayed in room 1 and it was beautiful. Great little touches like homemade chocolates when we arrived really made the difference for us. Was great to kick back after a long days walking and watch the olympics on the sofa.

A great location too - just a short 10 minute walk into the centre of Keswick.

I really can't recommend this place enough - I would give it 6 stars if I could.

Andrew

Room Tip: Room one was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I booked this hotel at very short notice and was delighted. The on-line booking is straightforward. The owners and staff were so friendly and efficient. Everything was top class - the room, decor, bedding etc. Even the toiletries were top quality. I had a fabulous view over Derwentwater from my room. The public rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished, and the breakfast was the best I have ever had! Thank you. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good, although mine (standard double) may have been on the small side for a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

only stayed one night however we will return. my wife and i were greeted with a smile and were shown to a lovely, clean room with views of the distant hills. we were slightly disappointed that we were overlooking the flat roof of the breakfast room however this was only a minor point. the facilities were first class, the staff couldn't do enough for us and the breakfast turned out to be wonderful, local produce and all. a super experience.

Room Tip: look carefuly at the website which gives a description of all rooms. remember that room 6 has a love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_wroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
610 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,073 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Country House

Property: The Grange Country House
Address: Ambleside Rd | Manor Brow, Keswick CA12 4BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian home in lovely setting overlooking the fells. Excellent breakfast with lots of choices - fresh fruit salads,local bacon and Cumberland sausage. Plenty of safe, off-street parking. Lovely decor, great quality extras in all the rooms. Super en-suite facilities with either Mira electric showers or a bath with shower cradle. FREE WIFI. Interesting local artwork to peruse, Stylish bedrooms with good outlooks over fells or gardens supplied with quality linens and accessories. Flat screen televisions and free Wifi in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Grange Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange Country House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing