We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grange Country House
Ranked #23 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were bowled over by the accommodation at The Grange Country House. The welcome was friendly and informal, the room and en-suite were luxurious, spacious and clean and the breakfasts were among the best we've ever had at a guest house. Thank you, we will definitely be staying again! Richard & Sian

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 433 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were met by Mark who helped us with our bags to our room. We stayed in room 9, one of the smaller rooms but it was lovely. Bathroom was huge with a lovely shower. The view from the room was amazing. Bed was comfy and fresh bedding was provided each day. Room was spotless. Mark and Sally provided fresh milk, home made chocolates and home made cakes as an additional touch. Location was perfect. A short walk to the busy town meant that it was quiet at night. Mark provided us with lots of information about what was going on in the town which ensured our stay was great. Will definitely be returing for another stay and many more.

Room Tip: Room 9 was the only room available when we booked and apparently one of the smallest. We were pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pansans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have to say that this was one of my best ever stays - from the second we arrived we were made to feel so welcome by all the staff - in particular Mark who really helped with knowledge on where to eat & drink and places to go walking.

We stayed in room 1 and it was beautiful. Great little touches like homemade chocolates when we arrived really made the difference for us. Was great to kick back after a long days walking and watch the olympics on the sofa.

A great location too - just a short 10 minute walk into the centre of Keswick.

I really can't recommend this place enough - I would give it 6 stars if I could.

Andrew

Room Tip: Room one was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I booked this hotel at very short notice and was delighted. The on-line booking is straightforward. The owners and staff were so friendly and efficient. Everything was top class - the room, decor, bedding etc. Even the toiletries were top quality. I had a fabulous view over Derwentwater from my room. The public rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished, and the breakfast was the best I have ever had! Thank you. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good, although mine (standard double) may have been on the small side for a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

only stayed one night however we will return. my wife and i were greeted with a smile and were shown to a lovely, clean room with views of the distant hills. we were slightly disappointed that we were overlooking the flat roof of the breakfast room however this was only a minor point. the facilities were first class, the staff couldn't do enough for us and the breakfast turned out to be wonderful, local produce and all. a super experience.

Room Tip: look carefuly at the website which gives a description of all rooms. remember that room 6 has a love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian_wroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Had a lovely two night stay at the Grange. We arrived with high hopes and were not disappointed, greeting friendly, informal and efficient, the owners and staff were great, they seemed to enjoy what they were doing and this showed. Room was large with a lovely view, all spotlessly clean, decorated to a high standard.
Breakfast room was lovely with views over towards the lake and Catbells, the food was even better ! between us we tried most things on the menu, simply fantastic and all served with a smile.
Hotel is set in a quiet location which ensures a good nights sleep, yet only 10 minutes walk from the town centre. Shame we had to leave, but the little box of home made chocolates was a lovely parting gift. The Grange is a must.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Lovely guest house with great owners. They are welcoming and very helpful. We were sent a very useful email before we arrived with details on the area and contacts to book local restaurants in advance of arrival, as it is a busy town.
Rooms are plush with lovely decor, comfy beds and beautiful furnishings. The breakfast room has great views (ask for the corner window table!).
We stayed in two different rooms, having been upgraded for the first night at no extra cost. The upgraded room on the ground floor is fabulous; lovely and big. Our second room was up at the top and a lot smaller. Still plush, but the one drawback was the sink being in the room rather than the bathroom.
WIFI is apparently throughout but I couldn't get a signal in the ground floor bedroom or in the lounge.
Its about a 10 minute walk into town, and this includes a steep hill but don't let that put you off unless you have serious mobility problems.
We'll definitely stay here again if we come back to 'The Lakes'.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangemanager, Owner at The Grange Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Hello - Most importantly, I'm sorry you had trouble getting on to the Wifi.

There are several networks in use at The Grange including BT Openzone for which you need a password and the hotels own secure Wifi. For the Wifi available free of charge to our guests, you need to 'search available networks' choose the one that says 'guest' - no password required. This should have been explained to you. We will update our guest information to make this completely 'hassle-free'. Apologies for any inconvenience.

We do have several rooms where the sink is in the room. (Many people quite like being able to brush teeth and put their make up on while a partner is in the shower.) If the bathroom layout is important to you, please send us an email or phone us and we'll allocate your room accordingly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#26 of 196 in Keswick
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#19 of 196 in Keswick
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 196 in Keswick
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#15 of 196 in Keswick
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brookfield B&B
Brookfield B&B
#24 of 196 in Keswick
620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 196 in Keswick
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Country House

Address: Ambleside Rd | Manor Brow, Keswick CA12 4BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $136 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian home in lovely setting overlooking the fells. Excellent breakfast with lots of choices - fresh fruit salads,local bacon and Cumberland sausage. Plenty of safe, off-street parking. Lovely decor, great quality extras in all the rooms. Super en-suite facilities with either Mira electric showers or a bath with shower cradle. FREE WIFI. Interesting local artwork to peruse, Stylish bedrooms with good outlooks over fells or gardens supplied with quality linens and accessories. Flat screen televisions and free Wifi in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grange Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange Country House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing