We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 Night Birthday break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hall Garth Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hall Garth Guest House
Ranked #65 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle u Lyme
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2 Night Birthday break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hall Garth
Looking for a dog friendly b&b and we found this one.....no need to look elsewhere again. Extremely satisfied , eggs cellent breakfast ( best we have ever had of the last 4 places we have stayed in Keswick including hotels). Just 5 minutes into town, and most friendly and helpful.
Thankyou Tracey.

Keswick
Nice and quiet at this time of year, used to permanent rain and we got 3 days of sun!!! Same old popular pubs still going, Dog and Gun, Bank Tavern etc etc no change there.

Trips out
Wrynose and Hardnott pass well worth a try in the car and return via Loweswater/Buttermere and Honnister pass, just park up and venture out, brilliant walks here and just us (should'nt have said that now people will visit).

Whinge time.
Back home through Ambleside and a look in the outdoor shops...now try and park...one of the daftest systems ever invented. Pay for long stay is fine, park in the street for an hour and you have to get a permit from the nearest shop /hotel garage etc which cud be 200 yards away, in the meantime on your round trip just hope you dont get booked !!!!! and you must be honest and fill in your arrival time correctly or you may get booked again for fibbing !!!!! Then throw your permit in the bin as you only ever use them once or twice a year IF you visit Ambleside, there must be hundreds of these permits sitting in shops etc and the bins full of them at night !!
Im sure all the locals already know where to park for the short term so I assume the council does not want tourists to stop off.
Windermere
40p to use the toilet in Bowness.....the cheapest is 20p
Nowhere else does this......I can just imagine the immediate area around the places (especially at night) when people are caught short/have no change/ or are just plain tight like me.
Just no need for it.
Bored now im off.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a fab couple of days away in keswick hall garth is a lovely place to stop will definitely come back spotless clean breakfast was very nice very friendly, only downside was when we were leaving are car had been bumped and we could not open are boot was reported just a shame the weekend ended like that.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank leedsgirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our first time at Hall Garth but not in Keswick. We were instantly hooked by the very warm welcome and the tray of tea and biscuits. The room is clean, spacious and very comfortable. We slept very soundly in the big comfy bed!

Breakfast was served by Tracey who has very upbeat attitude and we loved the whole vibe. The food was traditional English Fayre and was beautifully presented. Plenty of options too!

We'll be coming again!

Gerry and Ani McNeice

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryMcNeice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Fantastic B&B. Clean, tidy and cosy. We had a double room with a zed bed put up for my 7 year old daughter. The room was a little cramped but not a problem, The bathroom was a lovely size. Tea and coffee and fresh milk was provided, room was warm and clean. Wifi worked brilliantly. Breakfast was amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay in the Hall Garth. Tracey is the best host nothing is to much trouble , our room was spotless and had a huge en suite that we were able to put our dogs cage in. The breakfasts were wonderful set you up for the day. Thankyou for making our stay so good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I think this has to be the best B&B I have stayed all my life in UK. Tracy is a great host and nothing is too much trouble. Definitely it's my home after now in the area. Well worth a visit. Thanks tracy and see you again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJB_Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is one B&B that hits every nail, great food, great hosts and great rooms. Every box we had was ticked and the questions answered. The Autumn offer is well worth taking up, and Tracey is very helpful and the perfect host. We will definitely use this b&b again.thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#33 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Guest House
Lake View Guest House
#3 of 9 in Portinscale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#58 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Littlefield Guesthouse
Littlefield Guesthouse
#96 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cragside
Cragside
#78 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall Garth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Garth Guest House

Property: Hall Garth Guest House
Address: 37 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hall Garth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Hall Garth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing