We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few small tweaks would make this excellent!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yew Craggs Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yew Craggs Guest House
Ranked #163 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A few small tweaks would make this excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

This was no3 of 17 B&Bs we stayed in on the C2C walk and in many ways it was one of our favourites: a huge room where we didn't have to take it in turns to unpack our rucksacks (!), lovely fesh decor and carpets, a king size bed (bliss), a separate entrance for guests so we didn't feel we were imposing on the owners' privacy, a really friendly welcome where we were greeted by name. The only things that let it down were the 'bobbled' sheets on that lovely king size bed - which kept catching on the rough skin caused by walking in boots - and the lack of toiletries and a spare loo roll in the bathroom. Minor details which can easily be rectified. Overall a great place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last month on our Coast to Coast walk and it was an absolute treat. Beautifully located (favourite village on whole trip) with very comfortable rooms and a perfect shower. I could ramble on about the quality of breakfast, packed lunch etc but it's the friendly and welcoming host (Lucy) that makes the place special. I was sorry to leave....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CityMan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Wonderful setting, with beautiful views. Bed was extremely comfortable, and shower was great. All around perfection. Was lovely to be able to hear the river out of the window running adjacent to the room. Best B&B ever!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCA91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Just back from a fantastic couple of nights staying at Yew Craggs B&B. Our room was exceptionally clean and very spacious. The recent refurbishment has been done fantastically well and value for money is amazing! The location is great, with several places to eat/drink within walking distance and some of the best fells in the Lake District on your doorstep. Nothing was too much trouble for our host who provided superb pack lunches and more food than you can eat for breakfast ready for a full day's walking!

Having stayed elsewhere in the Borrowdale valley I can't think of a better place to stay. We'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed here August 2011. Very friendly, helpful owner. Great room and bathroom - very clean and spacious - most comfortable bed and great shower. Lovely warm atmosphere and fantastic location - wonderful views from every window. The breakfasts were delicious and local hotel down the road provides good food and drink in the evenings. Will definitely come back again and again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catherine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This booking was great value for money. The room was spacious, comfortable and obviously recently refurbished. We were given a huge, delicious breakfast and a fantastic packed lunch (complete with owner's home made gingerbread, wish we had the recipe!). It was in the most beautiful location, mountains all around and the pub just down the road. The owner was really friendly, she dried all our clothes and sympathised about all our blisters!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anth64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

stayed one night on sat 30.7.11
a lovely warm welcome from the landlady
a bright clean modern airy clean room
powerful shower with large fluffy towels
excellent freshly cooked breakfast.
I will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geordieman2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.7 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#33 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Craggs Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Craggs Guest House

Property: Yew Craggs Guest House
Address: Rosthwaite, Keswick CA12 5XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing