We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Bad service.”
Review of Laura in the Lakes

Laura in the Lakes
Ranked #4 of 15 Coffee & Tea in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food. Bad service.”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Waited 45 minutes for a sandwich, which then had to be sent back because it was wrong. Miserable and unfriendly service. Recommend elsewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank R6EVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    115
    40
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Most Amazing Scones!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Wow - the scone's were amazing and the selection of tiffin is incredible. Really friendly service and great with the kids.

Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely exterior, slightly disappointing inside”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This place looks beautiful on the outside but we were disappointed to find inside it looked more like a cheap builders café. The milkshake was very nice though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penistone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Social skills needed”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Called in twice recently whilst on a short break. Although the food was tasty and very good those girls need some serious training in customer service!! What a miserable pair

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdessKeswick, Owner at Laura in the Lakes, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Many thanks for your comments regarding my food. I'm sorry you thought my staff were a miserable rude pair, they are in fact very nice people, I'm sorry you didn't get this impression on this occasion. When the cafe is very busy, we do in fact have a meeter and greeter in place to ensure that everyone who walks through the door is acknowledged in some way. I share the trip advisor notifications with my staff , it is very difficult sometimes when you are on the front line but we will indeed try harder in future, to avoid comments such as yours which I feel are unfair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I'm not familiar with Keswick and was there with family looking for somewhere to have lunch. Mum is coeliac and this place had a sign up saying they had gluten free menu. So we got a chance and thank goodness we did. Lovely staff who rearranged the small unit to sit 8 of us together. Lovely home made food and excellent value. The best bit? All the home made tiffin! I took some home mmmmmmm

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura in the Lakes also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Laura in the Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing