We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Guest House with Wonderful Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lane Head Farm Country Guest House
Ranked #37 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Class Guest House with Wonderful Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

What a wonderful guest house in a beautiful location with views to the Lake District fells. Fantastic welcome and Mark and Jo are such wonderful hosts who completely dedicate their time to their guests. A welcome coffee in the lounge was such a nice touch and fresh milk available at any time for your room. Lovely room with wonderful views, breakfast was top class! I would definitely recommend the damson jam! Great sitting area too if you are in a group. The Mill Inn, Mungrisdale, a short drive away is a great pub - typical Lakeland food and atmosphere. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
77
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 for a family trip, a great place! Chose this place because it is dog friendly and its great reivews on tripadvisor, thought of giving it a try. Situated on A66, not too far from Keswick, not a problem if you have a car.

A very warm welcome by the hosts, Mark and Jo are super nice, so eager to provide us with any information regarding the lake district.

The rooms we got are spacious and squeeky clean. Beds are super comfy too. The environment is laid back, cosy, warm and nicely maintained, well beyond the normal B&B standards. Breakfast is hearty, dog's got a treat too!

Lounge is perfect for a night in for the family to sit, relax and play some board games.

Highly recommended if you are on a family trip with a pooch with lots of time to relax.

Room Tip: Room 2 was a bit colder, the upstairs room 7/8 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NesRobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

When we arrived we were greeted by the lovely couple that run this guest house ,shown to our room and offered tea in the lounge ,which we thought was a lovely touch. The lounge was very comfy with a roaring fire and lots of books if you needed info on the Lake District or a good read. We were served tea and coffee and Jo gave us info on where we could eat and recommendations. There is also folder with sample menus which was helpful. The room was very comfy ,had a four poster room,with a couch ,tv , tea and coffee facilities ,a cafetiere which was much appreciated by my husband ,biscuits ,hair dryer and had plentiful toiletries in the bathroom. The room didn't have a bath but the shower was fine for us. The breakfast was plentiful ,very tasty ,we had kippers one day and full English the next . There are other options on the menu ,porridge ,freshly baked croissants ,etc ,also cereals and fresh fruit and juices are available .
The place is very dog friendly ,if you want a break with your dog , Jo definitely makes them welcome with a fuss and dog biscuits !
We had a very comfortable ,relaxing break in a good location with excellent hosts ! Hopefully will be back!














.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scruffyduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Jo and Mark made us very welcome at Lane Head Farm, and everything about the B&B was first class. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfast superb and there are lovely views and sunsets. Well situated not far from the A66, Lane Head makes a good base for seeing the Lakes and other Cumbrian sites, and there is a wealth of local information available in the rooms and at reception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrtfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends for the weekend and it was a great experience. The breakfast was top drawer, the beds super comfy, and Mark & Jo were so friendly and helpful. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonalport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Thanks to Jo & Mark for the warm welcome and the tea & coffee upon arrival. The guest house was very clean and the room very comfortable with a fantastic view down the valley to the fells beyond. You can relax in the pleasant and tranquil garden or the comfortable lounge.Top class hospitality with Jo & Mark on hand to help and advise even during the busy breakfast period. On the subject of breakfast, the food was first class and plentiful and kept us going most of the day. Within fifteen minutes drive of Keswick, Penrith & the beautiful Lake Ullswater. We are regular visitors to the Lake District and this is probably the best B & B we have stayed at. A return is definitely on the cards (and not too far away I Hope) Well done Jo & Mark

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTW202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Welcomed by Mark and Jo as we drove up, and that kind of hospitality carried on throughout our time. We were very impressed with the place -- clean, cozy, comfortable -- and the breakfasts were exceptional. Even at breakfast time, though they were busy cooking or serving, Jo and Mark took the time to engage in conversation. We liked the setting, out in the country and away from town, which made it quiet. Mark and Jo helped us with hiking tips as they set us on our way. It was a wonderful way to spend our couple days in the Lakes District as we celebrated our 25th anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franklin885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
6.8 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#35 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
7.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#63 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
6.2 mi away
Brookfield B&B
Brookfield B&B
#18 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lane Head Farm Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lane Head Farm Country Guest House

Property: Lane Head Farm Country Guest House
Address: Troutbeck, Keswick CA11 0SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lane Head Farm Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandy and Pawel welcome you to their home Lane Head Farm. The farmhouse has been restored to offer en-suite rooms rated with Visit Britain as 4 star with Bronze Award Guest Accommodation. Hearty breakfasts (Visit Britain Breakfast Award), guest lounge,with licenced bar, dog friendly rooms, cycle storage,a heated drying room, car park and wifi provided free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lane Head Farm Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing