We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Break!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lane Head Farm Country Guest House
Ranked #43 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Jo and Mark made us feel very welcome. Lovely room with quality mattress and pillows, super four poster bed. very tasteful decor. Fabulous breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. perfect in our opinion. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birch187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Lane Head Farm Country Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 149 of 149 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

Warm welcome.
Room clean & comfortable bed.
Good selection for breakfast.
Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I stayed here to break up a business trip between the Midlands and Scotland, as it is not far from the M6 Jn 40, west on the A66.

I was given a warm welcome by Mark and Jo who made sure I was comfortable after a fairly long drive due to a hold up on the motorway. The room was at the front of the property and was ensuite. It was spotless and very comfortable.

The owners were very knowledgeable about the area, and gave me advice about a venue to stay in nearby for an activity weekend I am planning for some work colleagues.

The views from the property were excellent, looking down on a valley towards Keswick.

After a good nights sleep I had an excellent cooked breakfast and was ready to be on my way again.

If I am travelling this way again I will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NIB079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

My partner and headed up to the Lake District to get out of London during the Royal Wedding, and thought the best place to be would be somewhere nice and remote! Well, have to say that's certainly what we got :).

Lane Head Farm is in a great location, and extremely easy to get to by car. The rooms (we had no.6) were nice enough, had the nice quirks of being a converted farm house too. It was great to have a flat screen TV with Film4 after a hard day of hiking! There's the usual necessary bits, hair driers, decent mirror etc.

The owners were extremely helpful, and very up to date with things going on, and places to go. I think their idea of "leisurely" and our idea of "leisurely" were a bit different though! The 2nd walk we did from Ulswater was a bit of a shock after the previous day's walk. All in all though, we were very pleased. They were even kind enough to chill a bottle of Champagne that we'd brought up with us, and delivered it to our room on our last day in a cooler!

My only two critisms are, although one of them I didn't entertain is, if you're planning to go out for dinner and not have a designated driver, a taxi would be around £20 each way. The other is on Sunday nights the dining area and lounge areas are closed as the owners have their night off. We were looking forward to sitting on the very comfy chairs and having a game of scrabble before turning in! Although, to but to be fair, it's just the way the buidling is laid out and keeps us guests from raiding their bar!

All in all, I would recommend staying here. The Sticky Toffee Pudding was extremely tasty :).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acf-ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

My partner and I stayed over the Easter Break, it was delightful. We arrived to a warm welcome from the owners who showed us to our room with ensuite shower etc. The room was in keeping with the area, pretty, spotless and with lots of little detail paid to the small things, like a shower cap, sewing trivet etc. There was free Wi fi and flat screen freeserve TV. Downstairs in the dining room, lounge and bar it was equally attractive and clean. The food was amazing, all freshly prepared and served by the owners who popped in all the time to chat and offer us advice on things to see and do in the area. We intend to re-visit in the summer.

Room Tip: Easy access to all the lakes and surrounding area
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollymc49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuage69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
6.8 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#42 of 189 in Keswick
188 reviews
7.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
6.1 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Littletown Farm
Littletown Farm
#41 of 189 in Keswick
195 reviews
6.3 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#76 of 189 in Keswick
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lane Head Farm Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lane Head Farm Country Guest House

Address: Troutbeck, Keswick CA11 0SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $96 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lane Head Farm Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandy and Pawel welcome you to their home Lane Head Farm. The farmhouse has been restored to offer en-suite rooms rated with Visit Britain as 4 star with Bronze Award Guest Accommodation. Hearty breakfasts (Visit Britain Breakfast Award), guest lounge,with licenced bar, dog friendly rooms, cycle storage,a heated drying room, car park and wifi provided free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lane Head Farm Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing