We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beutiful little cottage.”
other travelers have booked this property
The puddle ducks by Jemima Puddle duck cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The puddle ducks by Jemima Puddle duck cottage
Our Puddle Ducks in the Spring The puddle ducks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
The puddle ducks by Jemima Puddle duck cottage
Our Puddle Ducks in the Spring
The puddle ducks
Rebecca Piddle duck kitchen
Lounge in Rebecca Puddle duck cottage
Lounge in Rebecca Puddle duck cottage
Upstairs lounge with view to Skiddaw in Rebecca Puddle duck cottage
Bedroom with double and single bed
bedroom in Rebecca Puddle duck cottage weith view to Skiddaw
Bathroom with shower over bath in Rebecca cottage see c hunky oak beams!
Puddle duck ornaments
Letting the ducks out of their shed in the morning to go swimming . Egg collecting (Mar-Oct)
Just duc ks having a lovely time across the stream in the woods
The bridge, stream and bench a few seconds from cottage
The stream side and swings a few seconds from the cottage
The view of the stream and Skiddaw mountain taken a minute from the cottage
One of our chickens by the stream with the ducks
Springtime - about a minute from the cottage
Sheep and lambs in Spring in the fields around the village
Skiddaw mountain in the summer - taken 15/20 mins walk away
Bassenthwaite Lake shore - an easy flat 1.75 mile walk away
View about 10 mins steep walk away
Skiddaw mountain behind the village
LAMBING TIME ON THE FARM
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
thesmiths...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beutiful little cottage.”
Reviewed February 25, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

What a brilliant location to go off exploring the lakes. Nothing was a problem. Fabulous hosts. I can't wait to go. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2018
Thanks for your positive review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and our quirky cottage and our indian runner ducks and of course the beautiful lake district and its marvellous scenery. hope to see you again. Alison trafford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2018
Thank you for your kind review. So pleased you enjoyed our cottage with all its quirky features! It's rewarding to receive complimentary reviews, as we aim to please at all times and try to keep a good standard , mixiing the old and the new. Hope to see you in the near future. Kind regards Alison Trafford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2017
Hi, Thank you for your very good review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to many visits to come hopefully, when your little one can enjoy the ducks and chickens and the stream when she is a bit older. Alison Trafford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christine...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly with DUCKS!”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very clean and friendly host - had a lovely week here and would happily stay again. It was a special treat to release the ducks in the morning, and watch them paddle about.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed meeting you and pleased our ducks programme gave you some pleasure. We have recently had one of our mother ducks hatch three ducklings in our neighbours garden , one yellow one, one brown and one brown and yellow. They are giving the visitors much pleasure as they waddle and swim about each day. 6 more Indian Runner duck eggs are in the incubator ready for hatching out end of August.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahina B
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great accommodation in a beautiful location”
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage was lovely, it was cosy and warm and had everything you needed.
Mrs Trafford was very welcoming and extremely helpful during our stay. They have lovely Indian runner ducks which are great to sit and watch. The area has beautiful views and plenty of nice walks. The lake district is known for there sheep and you can see plenty of those, especially baby lambs at this time of year. Was easy to get to. The lake district wildlife park is very close by and Keswick itself not much further. Overall a great place to stay and we had an enjoyable week in the lake district.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
Thank you so pleased you enjoyed Rebecca Puddle duck cottageand your visits to the Lake district, and thanks for putting our ducks to bed for me in the evenings! I am pleased they gave you a lot of pleasure including our three new baby ducklings .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John f
1 review
“Very good cosy little cottage !”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Went to the cottage only for a few days with girlfriend to do a few walks, and We were very impressed with the whole place. An excellent little cottage on the farm in the quaint village of bassenthwaite, 10 minute drive from Keswick. All you need here to enjoy the lakes at its best and a great base for walks. The Trafford family are very welcoming and the cottage is nice and clean, wish we could of booked for longer, but circumstances wouldn't allow. Only downside was rain but hey that's life! Still done circular walk from lake to walla crag then ashness bridge and back along derwentwater then Dodd wood walk. Great place to stay and Rebecca puddleduck cottage a lovely place to stay. John and veronica.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
Thank you and so pleased you enjoyed our cottage surrounding area. It is always a beautiful place to visit even when it rains! Alison Trafford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne06
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with plenty of character”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Idyllic location in a small village in the middle of a working farm in scenic Bassenthwaite. This small loft is a barn conversion with beautiful original beams and curvy walls, tastefully decorated and very well-equipped with kitchen implements, room for storage and even iron, ironing board and hair dryer. The storage heaters make this a very warm cottage. Small pub is a quick stroll up the lane beside the lovely stream. A real country treat!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing