We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit, especially out of season” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of THE OLD SAWMILL TEASHOP

THE OLD SAWMILL TEASHOP
Ranked #9 of 15 Coffee & Tea in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opposite "The Mirehouse" in Car Park at entrance to woodland walks and Birdlife Observation area called "Dodds Wood".
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit, especially out of season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've been here many times over the years and the food has always been nice and pretty good value - the cakes and treats are especially good.
There is quite a lot of space inside, compared to how it looks outside and there are also tables and picnic areas just outside the door and a little distance towards the woods. You can easily combine your walk with a snack at the end or give yourself a treat after your picnic.
The cafe has plenty of pace inside though I'm uncertain if this is accessible for wheelchairs due to the gaps between tables - best to check if you need this.
The woods themselves are wheelchair accessible in parts (all clearly signposted) and the place as a whole is a good destination for the whole family plus dogs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
347 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great location and good food but some staff a bit curt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I met my wife and her sister who had just completed the walk from Rosthwaite to St Bega's church the location of the Tea Shop is just across the road from Mirehouse. The girl who served me was very short and I felt a bit uncomfortable. We had our tea outside and when I asked for some sugar another lady was also a bit grumpy. Its a real shame as its a really nice place. I think some staff training is called for here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Having just moved to the area, we are exploring and finding our favorite places.....this is our favorite around here and even hard to beat from our old stomping ground in Shrophire.
Beautiful setting of course, wonderful service, great prices and astounded by the big plate of delicious food that arrived swiftly for the price!
A delicious side salad with every meal, some with a great fresh barley mix...our favorite.. My children devoured it all.
Proper milkshake, large teapot EACH !
Plenty of seating inside and out, smiley staff who were patient with choosy children and even went out of their way to split the sandwich half of each on each of their plates, great.
Extremly busy with happy customers all sharing the space available, amazing how an good atmosphere is contagious .....!
Tip left : £4
PASS IT ON : take change for Dodd Wood car park, the poor staff were inundated - and reacted graciously- to requests for change. Shame they dont do phone payment in the car park.

Brilliant, keep doing what you are doing - see you for a thick sliced ham sandwich soon :0)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eclectic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good little tea shop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Been there today actually (25th August) before a long trek into Dodd Wood. We arrived, sat down and ordered our food! The lady who served us seemed a little fed up and wasn't very friendly to the customers - she wasn't rude, just a little grumpy. I ordered the egg and cress bun, which was lovely. Although I just felt it was a little small; however it could have been because I was so hungry and expected more on my plate. I also felt the menu didn't really offer a lot of choice. Compared to the menu in Whinlatter forests' cafe there is no comparison. We didn't have a cake but they did look nice!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Oasis in Dodd Wood Cumbria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Old Sawmill Tea Shop is just that. The building has the old saws and photographs of the cart horses and men moving the trees from times gone by. Nearly all the food is home cooked, from the soup of the day (brocoli and stilton) for example - quiches and the most delicious and tempting deserts, scones... etc. This is a small friendly tea shop with a limited menu because it is a small tea shop with strict restrictions on what they can and cannot serve. ie if you want a chip buttie - go to Keswick. This is a wonderful little establishment which Clare keeps extremely clean and tidy and offers culinary delights of the homely kind. There's de-caf coffee, lattes etc, teas, cold drinks, just what you want after a) a wet walk in the woods, or b) a hot walk in the woods. If the sun is shining you can sit outside and enjoy the view of Bassenthwaite Lake and beyond. Enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SandyKM545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed THE OLD SAWMILL TEASHOP also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to THE OLD SAWMILL TEASHOP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing