We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of The Silk Road

The Silk Road
Ranked #87 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visit end this place in June 2014. We found this place with reasonable prices. The front house is run by only 2 European guys although it is Chinese but they were excellent in service.
They managed very well serving the customers with about 6-7 tables full and take always.

Food was ok too but could do better. Overall the service is great and worth for the price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    60
    23
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Down Hill!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Used to love this place, for eating in and takeaways but i would prefer neither now! Apparently the place was taken over, which would explain a lot! Lovely atmosphere inside but the food is just not up to standard.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becca_N23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We visited this restaurant during the early part of April - the food was very nice, but the restaurant was freezing cold and the staff did not seem to understand when we said we were cold. Consequently the food got very cold very quickly and although this was our second visit I am not sure we will go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllieJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great value tasty Chinese!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stumbled across this place during an impromptu stay in Keswick. It was packed and had a very good dinner offer for £13.50pp. The soup starters were really great and very tasty. There was then a generous portion of Peking duck for 2 followed by two really nice mains with lovely big prawns. It was hectic due to the full restaurant and constant stream of takeaway order coming in, but we were dealt with efficiently and well. Great place for a good value dinner!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Takeaway”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We ordered a takeaway from here last week. I had a Chinese chicken curry which was lovely, my husband ordered chicken in a honey type sauce. Even though it was really tasty it was pretty dry as there wasn't enough sauce. We also ordered chips and egg fried rice, and the portions were very generous. We have had takeaways from here in the past and always find it excellent value for money, and would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunlovingjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silk Road also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Silk Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing