We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bank Tavern, Keswick”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bank Tavern

Bank Tavern
Ranked #26 of 127 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pub
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bank Tavern, Keswick”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

One of a number of great pub venues on Keswick's main street. This place is always busy but it's busy for a reason. The atmosphere is good, beer on offer some of the best, and food quality is very high.

A steak that arrives sizzling on a hot plate with mushrooms, onion rings and chips - together with a pint of Hobgoblin; a real treat.

Great venue, highly recommended. A great start to an evening in Keswick.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    189
    63
    22
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Deal, Kent
Level Contributor
138 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“3 x Third of a pint”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited the Bank Tavern in April whilst spending a few days in Keswick. It was late in the afternoon (about 5 o'clock), but the Pub was very busy, with drinkers and people eating too. Bank Tavern is part of the Cumberland Taverns Group, so we will look out for more in that Group when in the area again, hope this is an example of the others.
At the Bar there was the usual range of Lagers and Ciders, and a good range of Real Ales. We couldn't decide which one of the latter to try so the Barman offered the facility to have 3 x One third pints to be able to try more than one. You don't get that very often now. All the beers were well kept and worth trying. Food wise we had the Cheese and Leek Pie which was served with Chips, Broccolli, Green Beans and Carrots - all fresh vegetables and well cooked, and Braised Steak in Onion Gravy with mash and the same mix of vegetables. The food was served very quickly, despite the numbers of people in the pub, staff were friendly and willing to discuss the range of beers on offer. We would certainly call there again, especially good at the end of a day's walking. The Pub also had a 4 out of 5 on the Food Standards Agency rating (always a bonus).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy just a good pub grub”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Did exactly what it said on the tin. Good basic pub grub, fast service, busy atmosphere, food nothing pretentious just very well prepared, traditional pub fare. Excellent value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Talisker1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Saturday afternoon beer post walk”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We called post our walk round the lake mid Saturday afternoon. Great selection of ales and Thatchers cider hmmmmm. Great spot for a beer with friends. This visist we only had a beer as we planned to eat at Morrels in the evening which was superb. We will be back for a pint on our next visit to Keswick

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirfieldMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Still Great Lunch Spot!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We ate twice at the Bank Tavern during our return visit to the Lakes in April 2013.

On both occasions we had a warm baguettes and a chargrilled burger all washed down with a Thatcher’s Gold Cider and half a larger. There is a wider selection of food all home cooked and quick friendly service.

Great place to have Lunch in a traditional pub. Highly recommended, as standards never seem to slip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GemmaK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bank Tavern also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Bank Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing