We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
nottinghamGB
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We have just returned from a four day visit. The evening meals throughout our stay were excellent. Very good service at all times. The buffet breakfasts were first class too. The new decor in the foyer has improved that area very much. Our bedroom was more than adequate, very clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was a tad on the small side!Yes some of the decor needs ungrading but none the less everywhere is kept very clean.
All the staff are cheerful and VERY helpful.
AND during our stay the weather was excellent (not sure the horel can take the credit for this!) The hotel's central location in Keswick makes for very easy access to the Town centre and beautiful Lake District.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davenottinghamGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    480
    110
    39
    10
See reviews for
209
970
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teeside
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Booked a room in the converted Station incorporated into the hotel. Found ourselves upgraded to a 4 poster room in the hotel and featured in he brochure. The hotel was purpose-built about 150 years ago, it is a splendid building in a good position. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Hotel let down a bit by lack of attention to detail, eg screws missing, dirty cups on bedroom tray. Its not easy to keep an old building bright and cheerful but it was very warm. Dinner was really very good indeed, breakfast not quite so good (buffet) but adequate. We were shown the station conversion, done about 10 years ago. This just oozes character in the way it blends in original features.

Overall this was a very enjoyable stay, the hotel is definitely recommended. We got a good price so value was very good as well.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2011

great hote,l first class food, good rooms,and very central would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgt44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Nice hotel, little tired in public area but our Junior suite was really spacious. Tip ask for a suite that isn''t under a family room we had a lot of noise from the family upstairs.
Staff are friendly and the 3 courses which was in with our deal was really lovely.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillledout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2011

My husband took me over New Year for my 30th birthday, the hotel is very grand but inside it does need a refurb as very tired looking and as has been mentioned before the place does smell a little 'musty', in our bedroom there were muddy footprints on the bedding and the carpet was stained.
The staff were excellent and the food was brilliant, I wouldn't recommend the trip to 'young couples' though as I was the youngest person there by at least 30 years, and one old man was even in the bar area in his slippers!!!!!!!
Overall though, a nice place, nice location, good food, place just needs a refurb really.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bananabutty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north of england
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights, the first a 'christmas party night' which was very enjoyable and the food and entertainment were very good, despite the large numbers to be catered for. The second nights evening meal was disappointing. menu looking like the left overs from the celebration night before, over priced and unappetising. Having said this, the breakfast were excellent! Found the accomodation satisfactory, plenty of hot water, room serviced and pleasant staff. Location of the hotel ideal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bulavinaka_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We booked a 2 night weekend stay, DBB, at a great rate. It can be argued that parts of the hotel look a little tired decoration-wise - it would never claim to be cutting edge that way - but it offers a homely charm and certainly gets the main things right. It has a large, well kept garden, and is an easy walk past a park and across the river into Keswick's centre. Staff are polite and friendly, the breakfasts varied and plentiful. The 3 course dinner, served in the spacious high ceiled dining room, offered a wide choice of courses, and service was prompt. Whilst there wasn't much chance of getting impaled on a passing Michelin star, the food was more than acceptable. Our Italian friend stated that she really loved the food! At dinner on the Saturday, a waiter apologised in advance that there might be a slight delay in our being served our main course as the kitchen had to serve a large party of murder mystery guests in the function room. We were then given a complimentary bottle of Merlot for our patience - and our meals appeared about 4 minutes later. No inconvenience or delay at all, a nice touch, and confirmation of the hotel's focus on its guests. This was the second time we'd stayed at the hotel, and we'll certainly go back. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dash1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
610 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing