We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem in keswick” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keswick Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real gem in keswick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

A fabulous hotel,( just two minutes from leisure center with pool and a 5 minute walk to the main Keswick town which has everything) food was amazing, breakfast hearty set you up for the day. A great location for walkers, leisure visitors and people with children of all ages. Beautiful position, veiws amazing and the staff can not do enough for you. I really enjoyed this break and would recommend it to my friends and have!
Only problem was, I had to come home!!! A real gem in the Lakes

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    462
    106
    39
    12
See reviews for
201
933
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

My husband and I went to the Keswick Country House Hotel for 4 nights in February 2008 for a romantic getaway. We love the Lake District and although we prefer staying around the Lake Windermere, Keswick is a very lovely place to stay. It is a buzzing little town with lots of small boutiques and even more tourists. Now about the hotel itself… Well we decided to stay at the Country House Hotel because we found a very cheap Web deal on their website that included Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. I think we paid around £400 for 4 nights in an executive room. We read some reviews saying that the hotel was a bit run down and weren’t sure we made a good decision but at this price, we were ready for a gamble. When we arrived, our first impression was great: the hotel is literally 5 minutes walk from the city centre, and it looked more like a massive mansion set on a beautiful Victorian garden than a hotel. When you go inside everything is massive and grand. Apparently the Queen stayed there when she was young and although it wouldn’t be good enough for royalty nowadays, it still gives an impression of grandeur. Everything looks old and posh. You could film an Hercule Poirot episode there without a doubt!
But then we went to our room and our mood changed a bit. Like I said before, we stayed in an executive room (which is in reality just above their standard rooms). These executive rooms are situated in the old Keswick station building which is next the hotel. I personally wouldn’t recommend you to stay in these rooms. It’s true that they are big and clean and they give you a complementary tray with chocolates, fruits and bottled water and at first it seemed ok. But they are also quite cold and on the ground floor with view on the car park. Plus in our room (don’t remember the number sorry) we had another window giving…on the conservatory of the hotel where the pool table was. Which means that if we left the curtains open, we could see people playing. And in the evening, we had the light coming through the window and we could hear the voices of people playing. Plus, after a quick inspection of the room, we discovered that there was a damp problem and the wall paper was peeling away and when we tried to close the curtains, we saw that they were badly torn.
But to our great surprise, when we complained to the manager the next day, they gave us a new room and upgraded us. I don’t really know which type of room it was but as you can see on the pictures, it was a beautiful room with panoramic view on the mountains. In the end, we then had a fantastic stay! The second room was very nice, the staff is professional and efficient, the bar was so cute it’s worth having a drink there and the food is just delicious. If you don’t have the dinner included, I would still recommend you to eat in their restaurant at least once. It’s one of the best restaurants I have eaten in England. Finally, we will probably go back there but we’ll make sure we get the same type of room.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ti_boo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

This is a very large, old hotel. Being an old hotel, it is run down in places. The rooms are large, but my mattress was very old as was the plumbing. It was a great location, though, just a very short walk from town. There is a lovely park with amenities next door including lawn bowling and minigolf.
The clientele here is quite old, and I mean elderly with canes and such. They come in busloads. Eating in the restaurant was like visiting an old folks home. That was okay with me, but probably would not be for young people. The restaurant was good for breakfast. They have a buffet.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

This hotel in gorgeous grounds is perfectly situated for walking and cycling in the Keswick area, indeed you can do both without using your car. The food was exeptional and we benefitted from a DB&B deal for 2 nights. The staff were great and the room excellent. This is a gem of a place to which we shall return - and only 3 stars! Our gain.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riccos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Have just got back from a three night stay at this wonderful hotel. I can only speak as I find, and we had a wonderful time. We arrived to a lovely receptionist who greeted us warmly and answered all our questions efficiently. We took the lift up to our Junior Suite and were not disappointed, a lovely spacious room tastefully decorated and with fantastic views over the hills. We later went down to dinner and again were greeted warmly by the restaurant meeter and greeter, and were escorted to our table in a lovely dining room. Classical music was played discreetly in the background. The menu offered a choice of at least four starters and a chefs recommendation, again with the main courses a great choice and with at least three vegetarian options. The food was exceptional, and the restaurant staff very pleasant and polite. Back up to our room later and we had a turn down service so we had a small box of chocolates on our pillow and the room had had a little tidy round.
The next morning after a peaceful quiet nights sleep in a comfy bed we went down to breakfast. Here there was a choice of cereal and a buffet of a full english breakfast, there was plenty of choice and all very tasty, with coffee or tea brought to you. We then had a lovely short walk into Keswick to look around the market, so the hotel is well placed to be near the centre and far enough away to feel like you have really escaped from the hustle and bustle. We had room service for afternoon tea and again this was served quickly and was tasty and well presented and reasonably priced. This was pretty much our routine for the rest of the week-end.
So would I recommend staying here, yes, wholeheartedly, with any luck we will be back again before the year is out.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hugorune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

We've stayed here many times and will do again. The bedrooms vary in size and this is usually reflected in the price. We always do DBB and the meals are great. Situation is wonderful, easy walking distance from Keswick centre and the lake for buses and ferries. Staff are great as well, we recognise the same faces which normaly means a good place to work.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianCumbria_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

I have worked out of this hotel on many many occasions over the past 15 years or so. During that time the standards at the hotel have only increased. The hotel is always friendly, and provides a very warm welcome. The rooms, both meeting rooms and bedrooms, are light, bright and welcoming. The food at the hotel is outstanding, and has been so now for a number of years. Breakfast is a self service affair, with a range of hot food that would tempt anyone. Dinner in the evening is outstanding. The wine list - well, what can I say. The Villa Maria is particularly good.

Aside from all of that, what I, as a conference co-ordiantor, am looking for is flexibility. I say we will be into dinner at 7.30 pm and we do not arrive until 8.30 pm. That is fine as far as the hotel is concerned. I request packed lunches to be ready at 9.00 am, but we do not pick them up and depart until 12.00 midday - again, that is fine. I arrive back early on a grim and very wet day, from a task and need teas and coffees quickly. That is all delivered and is done so without a word, to me, of complaint. A brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougDalebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing