We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than last time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Even better than last time”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just returned from a three day break. Excellent value for money.Reckon the only thing stopping this hotel from being classified 4star is lack of a leisure centre. Wonderful dinner food and very good Cumbrian breakfasts. Attentive staff and comfortable bedrooms, especially if you upgrade to a Garden View for example.Some Lake District hotels can be overpriced for what they deliver but not this one. The conversion of the old station buildings, which incidentally I worked at 50 years ago, into bedrooms gives another option for your bedroom choice. We hope to return before too long.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carli0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    485
    111
    39
    10
See reviews for
211
980
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this establishment for the first time with another 18 friends forming part of our social group on a three night social weekend. We were all delighted and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Staff, most polite and helpful. Food, out of this world. This old Victorian hotel and grounds were perfectly situated for further exploring the world famous lake district and this we all duly did.Most of us were of the opinion that we would most certainly visit again, sometime in the near future. Many thanks to all concerned.

Room Tip: Our room was situated on the first floor facing the rear of the hotel and was very quiet and peacefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larryjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The Keswick Hotel discovered a photo of employees in 1913 and created a modern equivalent with today’s staff. Pat and I were invited to stay and get the story.
The Hotel stands proud above the town. It was originally owned by the Cockermouth, Keswick and Penrith Railway Company and was built to coincide with the opening of the railway in 1865.
Today guests can enjoy a century of uninterrupted service and hospitality. From the moment we entered through the elegant stone archway we could sense the history and stature of this fine Victorian building now tastefully modernised.
The hotel has 74 rooms ranging through seven classifications from the stylish standard rooms to luxurious suites. We were allocated a mid-range room which was beautifully appointed.
Manager Stephanie Rogers told us: “Our guests span the age groups. Midweek our business visitors gather their thoughts while they share the restful atmosphere with our older residents who return again and again drawn by the timeless serenity. Our more energetic weekend holidaymakers head for the hills and lakes – we’re central to the most beckoning countryside in the UK. Our staff are knowledgeable about the attractions and events in the area and are happy to help plan visits.”
The Lonsdale restaurant overlooks wonderful gardens and floodlit lawns and the food is equally as impressive. Staying guests can enjoy a different menu every evening created by Head Chef Chris Lyon. The food is a combination of traditional and seasonal ingredients with contemporary flavours and healthy options. Restaurant Manager Mike McKeever provided the highest levels of service and made our dining experience memorable.
Stephanie: “Conferences and Banqueting is an important part of our business and we offer ground floor meeting rooms, and private gardens for outdoor team building events. There are several high-profile organisations that have regular bookings here. We offer a day delegate rate or they could escape the office and stay over in one of our beautiful en-suite bedrooms, which are ideal for a residential package. We can cater from four up to 120 delegates at fantastic rates. Events are supported by the professional conference and banqueting team, ensuring it runs smoothly from start to finish.”
This architectural gem lies in the most romantic setting in the Lake District. It’s ideal for weddings from 10 to 130, formal or informal and is an approved venue for Civil Marriage Ceremonies.
This splendid Victorian Hotel has free car parking, free use of the adjacent gym and pool, and is only a short stroll from Keswick town centre. There are certain indefinable attributes that set this hotel apart from the rest but you’ll have to go and stay there to find out what they are.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

my wife and myself stayed two nights in the hotel in march excellent position 10 mins walk to town the food was very good plenty of choice excellent staff from receptIon to dining room to bars would not hesitate to go back

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandmarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Four of us stayed at The Keswick Country House from 27th April to 1st May 2014. We could not fault it. Friendly, plenty of food and choice. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Complemented with exceptionally warm and pleasant sunshine

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricOakham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just arrived back from a fabulous stay at the hotel over the bank holiday. This is my third stay and it has fast become a firm favourite. The food, staff, location and accomodations in the hotel is first class.

The room I stayed in was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfy with plenty of space and I have the mention the bathroom and fab shower ! I only wish mine at home was half as good (a pure pleasure).

The food was sublime, despite the best intentions (for my waist line), I once again, couldn't resist the full English for breakfast. Evening dinner was fantastic, as was on previous visits. The menu caters for all options, but if your a meat eater like me, take full advantage if the lamb is available, it is wonderful.

Overall, the trip was brilliant, made even better by the first rate hotel staff. I honestly couldn't recommend this hotel any more highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRatcliffe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I took a party of twenty to the Keswick Hotel, this is the fourth Choice Hotel we have stayed at and while the others are all value for money the Keswick Hotel is a class above. Everyone enjoyed their stay and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
626 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing