We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking week-end”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Walking week-end”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Once again I visited this lovely hotel with a group of friends for our bi- annual walking week-end.
The staff are always very friendly & welcoming , and the food maintained the usual high standard.
The fact that we have been staying in this hotel for the past 5 years speaks for itself!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    479
    110
    39
    10
See reviews for
209
968
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The first thing you will notice about this hotel when you arrive is the stunning backdrop, the second is the warm welcome. The staff are always friendly and helpful, making you feel relaxed from the start.
As you can see from the photos, the food is outstanding. The buffet breakfast alone leaves you spoilt for choice. You can choose from a very tasty full English or Continental, and for those who want to save the calories for dinner, there is a lovely fresh fruit salad. Dinner is beautifully prepared, it almost looks too good to eat. The menu is varied and, despite staying there a few times now, I have never had anything that wasn't delicious. There's a children's menu too, so the less adventurous can have something simple like a burger, but all made with the best ingredients so you can feel confident they're still eating a nutritious meal. I don't have a sweet tooth but even I was tempted by the dessert instead of the cheese board and I wasn't disappointed. If you're out and about during the day you can order a packed lunch, and even that is way above average yet extremely good value. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre, so you could easily enjoy a weekend here without venturing further afield. Children can enjoy Puzzling Palace, crazy golf, swimming, or just have fun playing on the park. There are some great performances to see at the Theatre By the Lake, and a short drive away there's the Keswick Climbing Wall. If you want to explore the area further there is much fun to be had. You can take a boat ride at Windemere, do some outdoor activities at Rookin House Farm, a tree trop trek at Brockhole, or explore Grizedale Forest or Go Ape at Whinlatter. There's so much to do round and about, and at the end of the day you can relax in the big cosy chairs back at the Keswick. Other reviews have mentioned it feels like a home from home and it does. The decor is warm and inviting and the rooms are beautiful - some with panoramic views of the countryside and mountains. The beds have the most comfortable mattresses I have ever slept on away from home!
It's definitely the place to stay with your family if you're looking for home comfort, fine food, and endless things for children to do right on the doorstep. You could enjoy a stay at the Keswick without even needing to get in your car but if you do, then it's perfectly placed to explore, and once you've been there you will definitely want to go back. Last but not least look out for the rabbits on the croquet lawn We enjoyed watching them pop up to play, especially in the evening at dinner from one of the picture windows overlooking the gardens.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Every time we arrive at the hotel it feels like coming home and we instantly relax. The welcome is always warm and genuine. The staff throughout the hotel are excellent and never fail to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The menu is always varied and the food presentation and flavours are superb. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 118T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

When you first arrive at this hotel the building is very impressive and the minute you walk through the door you are made to feel very welcome. The rooms, especially the superior rooms are very spacious and have lovely views of the fells all around. The grounds are very pretty with putting/croquet lawns and you regularly see baby rabbits running around.
The food in the restaurant are superb with choices that would suit all tastes. The food is top quality and the service is excellent. The buffet breakfast is extremely good with hot and cold buffet tables covering the choice of all you would want.
We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Do choose a superior room it is worth the supplement for the size of the room and the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekender16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Keswick Country House delivered again! Food is excellent, superb selection, varied menu every night and first class presentation. Staff as friendly and welcoming as ever. You always know what you are going to get at the Keswick and that is why we stay at least twice per year and have done for many years.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a garden room for views over Walla Crag
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Read someone else's review headed 'overpriced but nice' with considerable confusion!
A beautiful hotel with excellent food in one of the most treasured national parks in the world, can't ever be deemed 'overpriced' at these rates....!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Back to stay over Easter, one of my favourite places the hotel and staff brill the menu was even
better this time, thou it is always excellent, and if you have diet requirments no problem
mine is wheat & gluten intolerant most things are cooked for my needs and sauces are great
the hotel is very clean and reception areas are always tidy and welcomeing.

And if you go into Keswick try The Honey Pot café in Pack Horse square they do gluten free sausage in breakfast gluten free bread toasties ciabatas and a to die for tiramuasue also they make there own scones for a cream tea.

Room Tip: we like the top floor I am a very light sleeper so less A/C unit noise also brill views over every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
608 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
199 reviews
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing