We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“long weekend break”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We arrived at the Kewick Country House Hotel on Thursday and stayed until Sunday. Our rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The restaurant is lovely with views of the gardens and fells; we received excellent service and the choice of menu was very good and served with a smile! We will return later in the year.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disappointedweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    485
    110
    39
    10
See reviews for
210
980
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just back from another fab extended family trip, and this hotel just gets better. The food is beautiful and is a real high point of the stay.
All the staff are so friendly and can't do enough to help.
I can't wait until our next trip which will hopefully be in the Summer!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stivesaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Very helpful staff. Room very spacious. Food superb with plenty of choice also chefs recommendation. Very relaxing stay with a lovely lounge to relax in. Close to Keswick centre. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 115 had a very prominent slope to the floor which made things slide on dressers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Went to keswick for 2nd time rooms have been improved since our last visit and whilst taking into account the age of the building and shape of the rooms, it was really nice. View out the back of the mountain did also allow for more privacy than garden or car park facing rooms.  Food is still great, close to cricket ground if you fancy whiling away the afternoon and snoozing off the ever indulgent breakfast outside. But also good for walking if you feel more energetic.  Garden of hotel was also nice location for pre dinner drinks

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank toptravelnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have just spent a relaxing couple of days at this hotel. The location is excellent with views of the surrounding mountains,when the clouds lift. The room we had was spotless and was well co-ordinated in matching shades of plum, lilac and white.The staff are polite and very helpful with nothing too much trouble. However the food in the restaurant is absolutely superb with a good choice of starters, mains and deserts much better than the sister hotel we stayed at in October and although breakfast is self service there is a good choice to suit everyone. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainesbabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have stayed here on a number of occasions and thoroughly enjoy our visits.The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful.It is right by the town with a choice of restaurants and pubs plus a really quaint cinema and the walking is fab! The food is always of a high quality with plenty of choice and the breakfasts are plentiful with a choice to suit everybody. I would recommend this hotel again and again!!!

The hotel would benefit from a programme of updating as mentioned by other guests but we don't go to look at the wallpaper or the carpets we go to enjoy the walking, the lovely food, it's great value,comfortable and the staff are happy and welcoming !!! :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaccimadHalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent 3 days at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We arrived early but were checked in and our room was allocated. We were in a standard room on 3rd floor. Good view from a small window over the garden and hills. Room was good size and pleasantly decorated. Comfortable bed with clean white bed linen. Bathroom on the small side but great shower with plenty hot water and lovely large white fluffy towels.
The evening menu was varied and excellent quality - suit all tastes. The menu changed on all 3 nights and the quality was maintained. Service was relaxed, efficient and professional. We adjourned each night to the lounge area for coffee and a nightcap. Again, a relaxed and comfortable experience. The decor may be in need of some work but all in all we felt it was in keeping with the building. The wine list was varied and reasonably priced. We did not finish our bottle on 1st night and it was allocated to our table fro the following night.
Breakfast was buffet style and again, did not disappoint in terms of quality. Varied cereals and fruit juice. Croissants and breads in needed. The cooked food was kept warm and replenished regularly.
All through our stay the staff were excellent - special mention to Stefan in the restaurant and Paula and Robert at Reception.
The hotel location in ideal for access to the Lakes and some of the walks start in the front car park. Great place to spend quality time. We will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandRosslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
625 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing