We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good indeed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a DBB rate. We were warmly received at the reception, and were given a room overlooking the gardens and the fells. Everywhere was clean and well decorated. Our room was clean quiet and comfortable. We had excellent nights. The restaurant was something not to be missed. In the evenings the meat just melted in your mouth and was so tasty. The breakfasts were fine, with a buffet self service for both hot and cold. This was backed upo by a team of very courteous and profesional waiters. The parking was good with plenty of space. All in all this was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulandsonja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

Had a lovely time here this week, spent two nights and really enjoyed the place. Hotels staff excellent and room very nice and very clean. Its old but romantic. Very near the town of Keswick so car can be left in car park until you leave as place to visit are so close, Pencil museum very interesting worth the money to see it. you can also go along the old train line walk which is next to the hotel if you prefer not to get to muddy across the fields near the lake. Food was very good and filling, worth another visit when l get another break. Or if another Deal Monster came up.

Room Tip: Have a room at the side of the hotel South Side it looks over the Gardens and the road is very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for a night just after Christmas as a bed, breakfast and evening meal package.

Easy to find, ample parking and quick check in. The room was lovely and spacious, modern but in keeping with the traditional hotel. A little chilly on arrival but good central heating which quickly warmed the room. Nice and clean bathroom with good hot water supply. The rooms had tea and coffee tray and a hair-dryer and there is a dedicated ironing room which is really useful.

Hotel was still lovely decorated with Christmas trees and looked very festive, I can imagine spending Christmas here would be really nice.

Food – the evening meal was OK. Not much of the food was as described. Starter (spare ribs) was lovely, not much to the dish though. Main (bean burger) was awful, really heavy and stodgy an no taste to it at all, ended up leaving it. Dessert (lemon tart) was delicious. Breakfast the following morning however, was extremely nice and there was a great choice of fresh fruit, yoghurt, breads and the Full English, nice coffee too.

All in all, lovely hotel and I’d stay here again, might be tempted to eat elsewhere but wouldn’t bother me if I didn’t.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinklady1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend at the hotel on dinner and breakfast. It was our first stay. On arrival free upgrade to a Junior Suite - room 200...massive room with a small lounge with panoramic views of the fells. Restaurant was excellent, dinner was superb, we had to ask the staff to slow down as they were so quick with their service. I thought it was very good value, lovely staff and great location for fell walking. Loved it will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was our third weekend in this hotel and again another fab weekend. We stayed in a station room which with a 8 year old gives us a bit more room to play with. The staff were great especially Pete who helped us sort out an eArlier dinner slot and the chef who sorted out an alternative dinner for our fussy daughter it was really appreciated.
The room was clean and warm and the food was fab as always.
The location means you can park the car and leave it for the weekend as town centre is a 5 minute wal away

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearly_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for the three night Christmas break, the hotel staff were excellent helpful and smiling. The food was very good as well, and they have made the hotel look very attractive with many Christmas trees. We booked fairly late and were worried that a standard room might not be good, but it was quite adequate and everything in it worked. We felt rather foolish to telephone reception and say we couldn't remove the plug from the wash basin, but help was on hand in only a few minutes, yes, it was stiff but soon removed for us.
I think we were disappointed in the entertainment, they had a duo who played music, but it was advertised that there would be dancing, but nobody danced and the only possible place was rather cool, dark and
uninviting. On a previous stay we booked in time for a superior room and that would have been better, we did enjoy the Christmas break though and would commend the staff for their helpfullness. We needed help with the cases and that was provided with a smile.

Room Tip: Superior room over looking the putting green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurtonSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Thank you again Stephanie, Gail, Rob, Maya and all the staff at the Keswick. We had a fantastic stay, food, comfort, quiz and good company too! We love coming. All the effort which went into updating and decorating everywhere was appreciated. Yes we would love an open fire but won't stop us coming back.....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
661 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
767 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Keswick
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: $161 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing