We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Initial chill but warmed up.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at this like district hotel for a party night yesterday. We were allocated the Rapheal room in the station annex. The room itself was large, probably too large for the furniture in it that looked, I'm my opinion, isolated. The main problem was the lack of any heating in the room, for the middle of December it was poor. We duly alerted the staff to be told the heating would come on at 4pm. We gave it until 5 pm still no heat. A member of staff arrived on request to suggest the radiators needed bleeding and the freezing bathroom did not have heating in any event. This was unacceptable.

In fairness to the staff when we asked to be moved to a warm room we were allocated room 303 in the main hotel building which was superb.

The party night was excellent, the food very nice including the hearty breakfast this morning.

All in all the hotel was very good, and we were informed that none of the rooms in the station annex has heat due to a malfunction in their system which was later rectified.

Would I stay there again, yes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RADCTurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

We've stayed at Keswick Country House Hotel on many occasions and have never been disappointed.Leading up to Christmas the atmoshere is magical added together with friendly staff,great food and comfortable rooms at a great price.We intend to return very soon.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a little extra for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I and our 1-year-old son recently visited this hotel on a two day bed and breakfast break between 3rd - 5th Decmber. From the outset the staff were very friendly and helpfull and this continued throughout the break, which made our stay even more relaxed. The luxury family room was of a good standard, clean and well appointed and the hotel had a great festive feel about it. With a young child we spent from early evening in the room and enjoyed the facilities immensely. I have left my comments on the food until last but by no means least. The menu choice was surprisingly a-la-carte considering we were on a cheap break and the food itself didn't disappoint. The menu on our second night changed and was as equally good. The chef at this hotel is to be commended. Overall, we found stay at Keswick Country House Hotel to be warm, welcoming and of a very high standard. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I can only reiterate the many very favourable reviews by other visitors,never had a problem on any of our visits.

Warm welcome from friendly efficient staff.

Cosy,clean room,good food and very well situated in quiet part of Keswick,only 5 mins walk to town centre.

Will return in the very near future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was my second time here and I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is well situated away from traffic noise yet close to town and the rooms are big, warm and well appointed. From start to finish all the staff are first rate and happy to help . Our package was dinner, bed and breakfast and the food excellent with plenty of choice. Even the packed lunch was plentiful. The only reason I have marked sleep quality down is due to my being a light sleeper not helped by inconsiderate neighbours - not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7276gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and have just spent 4 days at this great hotel in Keswick. In fact we have stayed there approx 40 times during the last 18 years. If you are looking for a very nice hotel with a calm atmosphere, then this is the place. It is very clean, warm and comfortable and all of the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. The food is first class with an excellent choice each evening. My wife has a food allergy and the staff went out of their way to assist. Thank you to all of the staff for making our stay thoroughly enjoyable once again. We shall be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 726Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Once again, my wife and I enjoyed another mini break at this lovely hotel, we have never disappointed with the way we have been treated. All the staff, from top to bottom are always very
helpful and obliging. The rooms are always clean, atmosphere very friendly and the food is always superb! We always look forward to returning, its is like home from home, with out having to do do the cooking, cleaning and washing up. Full marks to all the staff.

Room Tip: We have always been happy with the rooms we stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
661 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
766 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Keswick
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: $161 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing