We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT IN EVERYWAY 10/10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

just stayed at the keswick country hotel, with a group of friends, hotel is spotless clean, staff are very friendly, and so helpful, the food is outstanding, its like al carte, first class, you wont be dissappointed at all with this hotel. rooms are lovely and spacious, not surprising this hotel is fully booked, free car parking which is always a bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEA1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

As regular visitors to the Lakes often three to four times a year this is by far the worst hotel we have stayed in. The entrance and reception areas are nothing short of decrepit and our "quiet" room immediately above the laundry delivery and recycling area was frankly a disgrace.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have just spent two nights at the Keswick country House Hotel with my wife.
This is our second time at the hotel and we were ceryainly not disappointed.
The room was lovely, the service and meals first class.
We will certainly return.
We were DBB also had a packed lunch. Very nice
Harry S

Room Tip: The rooms do differ with three floors, would suggest 1st or second floors overlooking gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Another enjoyable visit to this hotel. Excellent breakfasts. Staff all very friendly and polite. Very well located for walking into the town and going on walks to the surrounding area. The dining room is very well decorated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UsYinsfromBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just returned from another wonderful couple of days at the Keswick. Fabulous stay in this lovely old building with a lot of character, still a little bit tired but refurbishment is well under way and looking good. The service here is beyond belief with all the staff being friendly and efficient at all times and I can only say many thanks to Manager Steph and her staff who were all absolutely brilliant. Will definitely be returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: If you are in 107 and go to the loo in the dark, mind the step it's a lulu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilWilstrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the 5th time we have been to the Keswick Hotel, and we have been very satisfied every time. Situation of the hotel is great, being very close to the town, and one can walk out onto the hills in about 10 minutes. Staff are excellent, rooms are very good, even without paying the extra for an up-rated one. The food is excellent, with a wide range of choice at every meal. Cannot recommend the hotel enough, and we will be back again, if not sooner, next April.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Hope we get chance to return. Very friendly yet professional welcome. It was nice to feel so welcome. All staff had a great attitude. Great food in the restaurant, good choice at breakfast. Room was well heated and clean. Honestly couldn't fault this hotel, it's an old building so it's going to have battle scars and character, but it carries them well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NelsonBearsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
768 reviews
3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,179 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
677 reviews
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: $123 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing