We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

As enthusiastic fellwalkers we have stayed at this hotel regularly during the last 18 years. An architectural marvel, it has a superb and convenient situation allowing for an easy stroll into Keswick. You can even walk out of the door and be on the tourist path up Skiddaw within minutes.
It has a superb dining room, friendly and attentive staff, evening meals rarely disappoint, and the breakfast buffet is all you could wish for.
Bathrooms are not state of the art but are clean and newly decorated.
Mid week deals can be amazing value, half board in a quality hotel for less than the price of a pub meal and B&B in a Keswick Guest House!!

Room Tip: An upgrade from the basic ensures better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,057 - 1,063 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had previously stayed at the other Choice Hotel in the Lakes, the Patterdale, where some other guests recommended staying at the Keswick Country House Hotel. The Keswick is seen as the slightly up-market version and it was certainly an impressive Hotel. The food was excellent on two of the three nights but it felt like the middle night was the chef's night off - not to the same standard. The staff were all welcoming and friendly providing good service throughout. Nevertheless there were one or two minor points. The drinks were a bit over-priced, the large mirror in the dining room was cracked and didn't provide a good impression of maintenance - neither did some of the wallpapering. As per the Patterdale, avoid the porridge which was the most tasteless mush. For some reason I just couldn't get a good night's sleep even though the bed was comfortable. The bathroom felt a little cramped. The hotel is good value but the question I kept asking myself was whether the extra cost (over the prices at the Patterdale) were actually worth it. I think it comes down to what you want from a hotel. The Patterdale feels like more of a Walkers hotel while the Keswick was more of a mix between walkers and general tourists. Overall I would go back to the Keswick but keep your eyes open for offers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Psycho72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Two nights here recently with friends. Large old hotel in a good spot near Keswick centre with plenty of parking, friendly staff and great food. There are plenty of discounted deals for all the hotels in this group, and this hotel can get very busy, well worth booking ahead. Its a 3 star hotel with 4 star food at 2 star prices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just booked a last minute overnight stay at this majestic hotel. Loved the food which was very++ tasty and well cooked. The staff were friendly and worked well as a team.
Our room was a little quirky having a sloping floor, and it did overlook the staff quarters I think however it was comfortable and had everything you would expect from a 3star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sues2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Recently returned from a 2 night break and wished it had been longer despite the cold. We have stayed here numerous times during the last 10 years and each stay gets better. Nice to see the bedrooms have almost totally been refurbished. The food gets better each stay with always a good selection for vegetarians (always 2 mains for them to choose from) and a. total change of menu each day. Buffet style breakfast of both cold and hot food. Staff are always pleasant from check in to check out which makes your stay even better. No need to pay for upgrade room as the basic rooms are of good size and have nice views of Latrigg and in winter months curtains are usually closed. Hotel is situated in a quiet part of Keswick with only a 5 min walk into town and plenty of excellent walks so no need to use car during your stay.Such good value have already booked a longer stay in May

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcatdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Have just returned from a three night break at Keswick Country House Hotel in the English Lakes. Lovely room, everything clean and fresh, and as warm as you could hope for in this weather. We have been here many times over many years and have never been disappointed. The food is tremendous, and nothing is too much trouble for their excellent staff. The buffet breakfast has an enormous range of options, along with a huge selection from the heated cooked section. Plenty of staff on hand at all times. The Hotel is situated centrally in Keswick, and was originally the Station Hotel - it is situated up a drive in large immaculate gardens.Altogether excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retrieversEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had two fantastic days and nights at this 3* Hotel. Staff are very experienced, giving the customer a rewarding stay. The food is outstanding and service the same.
We will be visiting again to do a little more walking, our visit this time was hampered by heavy snow.
Overall fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,204 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#11 of 17 in Keswick
801 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: $125 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing